Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Help With First Time Engine Replacement

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by johnny reb, Dec 6, 2000.

1. johnny reb

johnny reb 1/2 ton status

Soon, I will be swapping the 305 in my 86 K5 with a crate Goorwrench 350. I've never done this before and have a few questions.

1. Will I need any special tools to do this?
    2. What rental equipment should I look for, such as engine hoist, etc.?
    3. What parts/accessories will I need from my old engine to put on my new engine?

Any other tips/hints/tricks/ideas/comments are welcome. Thanks

2. talldogg

talldogg 1/2 ton status

Johnny Reb,
    The swap from small block to small block is pretty straight forward. Undo all lines, hoses, and wires, and drain all fluids, this makes it A LOT more pleasant to do. Make sure to label everything to make installing the new engine easier. I always use masking tape and a pen and tag everything, believe, it's a good idea to do. You don't want to be held up by a couple lines or wires that you don't remember where they went. One thing to remember is the torque converter bolts. There's three of them and you need mark in what posistion they were bolted to the fly-wheel. If you don't you could end up with vibration afterward. Also prop the tranny with a jack or blocks, since the only thing that holds it up in the front is the bolts that are bolted into the block. Now to answer your questions, I'll try to cover everything, sorry if I forget something.....
    1) Not really, a good socket set, and a good set of open end wrenches. The only thing you might not have is a torque wrench, you'll needed it to torque certain bolts to spec. You could skip it, but I wouldn't recommend it, you can rent them just about anywhere, cheap too.