Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Help with glow plugs needed...

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by rocko, Sep 18, 2002.

1. rocko

rocko 1/2 ton status

In the '83, when I turn the ignition switch, the glow plugs light will not come on, no click, and it's not allowing the truck to start.

Don't know if this matters, but yesterday after the truck started and ran fine, the light would come back on.

Any ideas? I'm new to diesel and am clueless.

2. arveetek

arveetek 1/2 ton status

If you have the original style glow controller, you ought to have a thermo-switch screwed into the water jacket at the rear of the driver's side head with a large relay on the firewall. These systems don't work well and are expensive to repair. It sounds like your controller went south.

You can bypass the controller by jumping the relay and energizing the glow plugs. One of the wires going to the relay ought to have 12+, I don't remember which. Ground out the other wire, and the coil will engergize. Keep the relay closed for about 10 seconds, and then shut it back off. This will allow you to start the truck.

Upgrading to the '85+ glow controller is the best solution.

Casey

3. doctor4x4

doctor4x4 1/2 ton status

i agree with all he says except i only charge for 5 seconds not 10 i sent u a pm also

4. OFFRDK5

OFFRDK5 1/2 ton status Premium Member

What kind of glow plugs are you running? Be careful with the manual switch. You don't want to have 8 mushroomed glow plugs!! I had the problem, not fun. I would suggest going up to the AG60s and using the switch. If you forget to turn the switch off with AG60s you are fine. Anything else you in trouble!!

5. arveetek

arveetek 1/2 ton status

Yes, what he said! Use 60G plugs.

Casey

6. surg82k5

surg82k5 1/2 ton status