Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Help with glow plugs needed...

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by rocko, Sep 18, 2002.

1. rocko

rocko 1/2 ton status

I already posted this in the diesel forum but since this forum has higher traffic volume, I'm hoping someone here can help me out.

In the '83, when I turn the ignition switch, the glow plugs light will not come on, no click, and it's not allowing the truck to start.

Don't know if this matters, but yesterday after the truck started and ran fine, the light would come back on.

Any ideas? I'm new to diesel and am clueless.

2. heavy4x4

heavy4x4 1/2 ton status

Since you're new to diesels, let me try and explain the mechanics of a diesel engine. First of all, there are no sparkplugs to ignite the fuel and air. In the combustion chamber, the piston compresses plain air (no fuel mixed in). This compression is very high. Something like 20:1 or 22:1 depending on the engine. Now, as air compresses, it heats up. So, once the air is fully compressed, fuel is injected into the combustion chamber and because of the heat of the compressed air, it ignites. That's pretty much the basics.
    Now, on to glow plugs. Glow plugs are used in the initial startup of a diesel engine. Because the air flowing into the cylinder is cold, when it compresses it sometimes doesn't become hot enough to efficiently ignite the fuel being injected in. So, a glow plug basically heats up the chamber a bit in order to allow the fuel/air to ignite.