Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Help with manuel glow plug setup

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by rocky4by, Dec 17, 2004.

  1. rocky4by

    rocky4by Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IN
    Hi, I would like to put a manuel glow plug setup in my 86 CUCV Blazer. I have read some past posts and have done some searching, but would like to know what is the best way to do this? What wires, what push switch is best? I would like a complete write-up from start to finish.
    Thanks for all advice.
    Steve
     
  2. 86dieselburb

    86dieselburb 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Crestline, CA
    Glow plug by-pass

    These guys sell a kit to by-pass the controller.

    SSDiesel Supply
     
  3. Blazr77400

    Blazr77400 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Posts:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ogden, UTAH
    On mine I just used a Ford Starter Solenoid with a push button switch. I got everything from the parts store for like $30. You just replace the glow plug relay on the driver fender with the ford solenoid and just leave the two prong connector unconnected. I put my push button switch under the headlight switch.
     
  4. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,167
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Easier yet:


    Cut the little blue wire at the glow plug contoller and pull it out of the harness. Feed the wire through the firewall and attach it to one side of a push button switch. Attach a ground to the other.

    Total cost is under $10 for the switch.

    Truck already has a relay...why replace it? Might as well use it.

    Rene
     
  5. Blazr77400

    Blazr77400 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Posts:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ogden, UTAH
    well ......... my tires are bigger
     
  6. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,167
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Haha!! Your whole sig line makes me drool! :xmas:


    Rene
     
  7. rocky4by

    rocky4by Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IN
    Thanks for the information

    I hope to get the switch this week, hope it works better then the controller board. I think I will also mount a glow plug on the dash somewhere, so I can see whats going on, has anyone tried this setup?
    Thanks, Steve
     
  8. joez

    joez 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Lenox, Illinois
    Wait a minute, you are going to mount an actual glow plug on your dash? :confused:

    Sounds like a VERY bad idea to me.
     
  9. rivermtnman

    rivermtnman 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon, VA
    Maybe as a backup if heater goes down? Sorry just had too.
     
  10. rocky4by

    rocky4by Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IN
    Hey now

    I got this idea from H.A Parramore in Florida, he is a great guy to deal with and has some good information. I think if it is mounted in the dash where you can see it, and maybe even have some sort of glass cover, it would be safe and you could always see how the glow plugs are working, no guessing ever again.
    Keep coming with the funnies, I appreciate the humor.
    Steve
     
  11. rivermtnman

    rivermtnman 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon, VA
    Just dont read any of my post rocky4by, I probably left the door open for a couple of shots too. Why not just a cheap 12v light on plug side of switch, instead of using glow plug? Don't listen too much to me, I'm still in diesel starting training 101 class(about 1 month knowledge total).
     
  12. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,167
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Well, all kidding aside the only glow plug you'd be monitoring would be the one 'on the dash'. As long as you can't see the rest you'll never know whether they are working or burnt out without testing them.

    As for knowing when they're on; a simple light works just fine. That's what GM did, and that's what i have on my truck. When power is sent to the glow plugs, it is also sent to a small light above my gauges. Release the button and the light and glow plugs go out.

    Rene
     

Share This Page