Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

HELP!! wont start

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by KILLERK5, Jul 9, 2001.

  1. KILLERK5

    KILLERK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2000
    Posts:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aurora, Colorado
    Last night i was playing in the mud, and my truck died, and now it wont start. I can hear the fuel pump turn on but the injectors arent giving any gas. The only way Ive been able to get it started is with starter fluid. Does anybody have any ideas about what it could be? I have an 88 Blazer.
    Thanks!
     
  2. POWERMAD

    POWERMAD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    You should be able to pull the codes.
    It sounds as if the MAP sensor took a dump.
    Most of the FI rigs that I have messed with that had that problem that was what it was.
    But with a FI engine one thing going bad can make it look like other things are out of whack.

    my truck's not dirty, it's earth tone paint
     
  3. realsquash

    realsquash 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Posts:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE WI
    Even if the MAP crapped, it would still spit some fuel from the injectors during cranking. Even will all the sensors removed, it will attempt to run the vehicle. I would double check the fuses first. Even the ones that look good can be bad sometimes.

    Second thing is to make sure that the engine makes spark. Pull a plug wire and hook a plug up (make sure the plug is touching ground). If the dist doesn't make spark, the ECM does see the engine turning, hence no fuel.

    Start with this and post back what happens. I bet your ignition went south for the winter.

    Squash
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.trailrunners4x4.org/users/realsquash>http://www.trailrunners4x4.org/users/realsquash</A>
     
  4. POWERMAD

    POWERMAD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    If you read the post he stated that it ran on starting fluid.
    So it obviosly has spark.
    And of all the plants that I have worked on with a bad map sensor there was no fuel at the injectors.
    All would run for a second when a little bit of gas was poured down the manifold.
    After working in an auto repair shop I seen more than one do this.[​IMG]
    If you know the values for the different sensors and with a good volt meter you can tell which one has gone bad.


    my truck's not dirty, it's earth tone paint
     
  5. realsquash

    realsquash 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Posts:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE WI
    I wouldn't trust that. The dist. could be barely working. This is when diacom is nice, you just plug it in and figure it out. No problem.

    I'll put $5 monopoly dollars on a crapped out HEI module.


    Squash
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.trailrunners4x4.org/users/realsquash>http://www.trailrunners4x4.org/users/realsquash</A>
     
  6. POWERMAD

    POWERMAD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Hmmm I wonder how much beer that will buy. [​IMG] [​IMG]

    my truck's not dirty, it's earth tone paint
     
  7. OFFRDK5

    OFFRDK5 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Posts:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Central IL
    Did ya try unhooking the battery for a minute and clearing the codes? Set everything back to factory and see what happens. Might help in an emergency situation!


    SK-15
    J**P...it's whats for dinner!
    Roads? Where we're going, we don't need any roads!
     
  8. rich'90

    rich'90 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    try something simple like a clogged fuel filter.

    Good Luck

    Rich

    Go heavy or Go home[​IMG]
     
  9. realsquash

    realsquash 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Posts:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE WI
    It will buy 2 monopoly beers, of course!

    Squash
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.trailrunners4x4.org/users/realsquash>http://www.trailrunners4x4.org/users/realsquash</A>
     
  10. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    I was thinking the same thing, clogged fuel filter or pump screen maybe? Maybe there's a hole in your tank you're not aware of, and some crud got in there!
    Resetting the computer isn't a bad idea either...

    Ratch
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://k5.8m.com>http://k5.8m.com</A>
    **K5 - What more is there to life?**
     
  11. bigblue

    bigblue 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2000
    Posts:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    southern california
    I am thinking fuel pump - sending unit. Mine crapped out and the same thing happened. I could start it with starter fluid..
     
  12. MaxCrack

    MaxCrack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2001
    Posts:
    895
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mt View, CA
    Do you have gas in the tank?

    heheh



    That's because I'm the devil.
     

Share This Page