Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

helppppp with my first tbi carb

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by johnathon1968, Feb 2, 2006.

  1. johnathon1968

    johnathon1968 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oregon
    hello im new here. i just got a 1988 chevy van. with 305 engine and tbi carb.im trying to find out how to adjust the idle on it. thanks for any help.

    johnathon1968@yahoo.com
     
  2. camok5

    camok5 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Posts:
    959
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Buellton, Ca
    Well the TBI really isnt a carb, its closer to fuel injection and if your idle is off there might be something else wrong, I am sure someone else with better knowledge than me will help. Also if you explain whats wrong with the idle it will help others to answer your question.
     
  3. lrazer

    lrazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mokena, IL
    the computer controls the idle there is a manual way to adjust the throttle stop but it will usually only work to adjust the idle up, because if you adjust it down past what its at the computer will just hold the idle up
     
  4. johnathon1968

    johnathon1968 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oregon
    thanks for your reply. the problem is the idle seems to be very high. the engine is running fast at idle. and 1 ore thing the oil light stays on at idle.but when you push on the gas it goes out.
     
  5. BoDapper

    BoDapper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Libby,MT
  6. johnathon1968

    johnathon1968 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oregon
    What All Would I Have To Do To Put A Carb On Here..
     
  7. pumpkin

    pumpkin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it is idleing too fast, then it is most likely a vacume leak. Quite common for the throttle body base gasket to leak.
     
  8. camok5

    camok5 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Posts:
    959
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Buellton, Ca
    If you put a carb on it then it wont be smog legal anymore.
     
  9. stkcode

    stkcode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley, CA
    Why would u want to revert to a carb?
     
  10. johnathon1968

    johnathon1968 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oregon
    ok i got the idle working right.. it was a vacume leak. now i have a new problen. i cant get any oil pressure . i put a new oil guage but still no pressure. what do you think is going on.
     
  11. ProJunkRacing

    ProJunkRacing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FrankFort IL
    well i would not run the motor with no pressure is what i would suggest
     
  12. 1985_K5_Silverado

    1985_K5_Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Posts:
    984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corn Country
    Are you positive the replacement gauge is good? Are you positive that your sending unit is OK? How about the connection between the two?

    This is slightly different, but gauge-related: Wwhen I bought my K5, the coolant temp gauge didn't work. It wasn't the sending unit at fault, nor was it the gauge, but rather a wiring problem. When a PO had done a "home rebuild" job on the 700R4 and had bolted it back up to the engine, they had tightened down a bellhousing bolt head with the coolant temp wire underneath! Apparently, no one thought that a dead coolant temp gauge was worth debugging, but it's been fixed now by replacing the wire.
     

Share This Page