Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Hey everyone......I'm a WELDER !!!!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Greg72, Mar 15, 2002.

1. Greg72

Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

Hey everyone......I\'m a WELDER !!!!

That is.......I am one who welds......or who HAS welded...? /forums/images/icons/crazy.gif

I got my new MIG welder setup up today, and just finished about 3 hours of "practice" on scraps of steel I got from a local shop. I couldn't quite tell what I was supposed to hear or see at first, or how I was supposed to move the gun around.......but after a while, I started to see the "puddle" and tried to make it different shapes (larger & smaller) by moving the gun faster and slower.....and I started making small circles with the gun to get that "stack of dimes" pattern in the finished welds.

I started out just making welds on a flat piece of 1/4" plate.....just line after line after line.....then I tried some lap joints, and that seemed more like "real welding" since I was filling a crevice with metal, instead of just laying it on top.

I messed around with the wire speed settings and amperage settings a little......and burned a few holes too.

Just thought I'd share. Now that I've begun "fusing metal"....a whole new exciting world is about to open up to me! /forums/images/icons/laugh.gif

2. tori89k5

tori89k5 1/2 ton status

Re: Hey everyone......I\'m a WELDER !!!!

Welcome brother.... we are here for you......

3. 71RestoRod

71RestoRod 1/2 ton status

Congrats, Greg.

Good to hear that (after all the hassles) you finally got the welder you wanted. You’re gonna have a blast with it. What's your first project going to be?

4. Grim-Reaper

Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author