Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Hi, need help with rebuild of 82 Jimmy

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 82JimmyHS, Nov 1, 2005.

1. 82JimmyHS

82JimmyHS Registered Member

Hi All,

Unlike most of you, I am writing from a foreign land where there are not enough enthusiasts who can help me with my project, so I'd appreciate all your help.

I recently bought an 82 GMC Jimmy High Sierra. Though it seemed to be in good condition, when the mechanic first drove it in 4x4 mode the front and rear wheels turned are different rates!

To cut a long story short, I now have 8 bolt, 4.10 Dana 44 in the front and a GM 14 bolt on the rear (apologies if I am not using the right terminologies, I am a newbie). I have 35" BF Goodrich on 16 x 10 rims. The engine is a 5.7L carb (petrol). The transmission is TH350. The transmission packed in the last time we went for a desert drive and the mechanic is suggesting upgrading this to a heavy duty TH400

I have done some work to increase the height with some suspension work, but it is not satisfactory.

I want to start over and do a proper ground up re-build.

My intention is to have a good looking car for 75 to 80% commuting and the rest desert drive (no rock/ mud).

Appreciate if you can tell me what I have done right and wrong so far and how I should go about rebuilding my dream truck.

Rajesh

P.S I am ashamed to admit I don’t know much about the history and pedigree of the Jimmy/ Blazer (for example no idea why you all keep referring to K5) so appreciate if you can point me to any reference on this.

2. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

Welcome to CK5!

Believe it or not we have another CK5 member from UAE. His user name is Prossett...

http://coloradok5.com/forums/member.php?find=lastposter&t=153829