Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

High Oil Pressure?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by fortcollinsram, Nov 22, 2001.

  1. fortcollinsram

    fortcollinsram 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    At first I thought the gauge was shot... but it still moves a little bit, but no matter what, it always shows oil pressure ABOVE 60 PSI...whats up...I am planning an engine rebuild this summer but until then...why is the gauge reading sooooooo high... Thanks,
    Peace,
    Chris

    1987 Blazer K5, 4" Rancho Lift, 33" BFG AT, Dual Battery setup, AND MORE TO COME [​IMG]
     
  2. DesertDueler

    DesertDueler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Sounds like the sending unit is bad. Replace it and check after that. If its shows 60 psi at idle and the sending unit isnt bad then sounds like something is blcking the oil passage and causeing it to build pressure.

    86Jimmy 4"&35"MTRs,87 burb 4"&35"MT,69Firebird w/525 hp,and 70GTO live in PHX,AZ<a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/modifierperformance>My vehicles</a>
     
  3. DesertDueler

    DesertDueler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Either that or you have an oil pump like my Firebird :) IT idles at 75 psi cold, 60 psi hot, 85-90 psi crusing when its still cold, and 70 psi hot.

    86Jimmy 4"&35"MTRs,87 burb 4"&35"MT,69Firebird w/525 hp,and 70GTO live in PHX,AZ<a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/modifierperformance>My vehicles</a>
     
  4. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    both of my k5's run that high... one engine is newly rebuilt (a comptely rebuild with many new parts)...

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>link to k5's</a>
     
  5. RedDwarf

    RedDwarf 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    816
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    Maybe you have the dummy light sending unit. It's either on or off. If the round part is only about 3/8" tall, that's what you have. The real guage kind has about an inch tall round section.

    Often when an engine gets rebuilt, a high volume oil pump gets put in.
     

Share This Page