Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

high output alternators

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by malachi, Jul 28, 2001.

1. malachi

malachi Registered Member

Anyone running a high output alternator? Which is the best one? Can you run one with just one battery or will it hurt the battery? Any help would be great thanks.

2. CaptCrunch

CaptCrunch 1/2 ton status

I have a Powermaster 140 amp alt and it works great w/ the direct charge wire. I got a great price from keith here on CK5. He works for autoaccessory.com

-Mikey
    1987 Chevy K5 Blazer- 350 TBI
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/milnerlives_2000/blazer.htm>http://www.geocities.com/milnerlives_2000/blazer.htm</a>

3. CaptCrunch

CaptCrunch 1/2 ton status

Oh yeah... I have a single AC Delco battery setup and it works fine

-Mikey
    1987 Chevy K5 Blazer- 350 TBI
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/milnerlives_2000/blazer.htm>http://www.geocities.com/milnerlives_2000/blazer.htm</a>

4. CCRider

CCRider 1/2 ton status

I just put in an Iceberg 180 amper for 198$ shipping included , It's the big delphi unit they put in cop cars and stuff!! needed to modify the rear bkt. on my 91 though. alternator works great!!Single battery for now . but will be going to dual soon!!CC find at icebergalternators.com

1991 Fullsize 5 1/2"lift, 37"ssr's,10Bolt8 lug , 14Bolt ff, 4:56 Detroit rear, 12"fr. 14"r Bilstein remote res.350 P.F.I , 700r4 , 241c W/ sye

5. Twiz

Twiz 1/2 ton status

Alternators are self-regulating, they only charge as much as needed to keep the battery topped off. So, it shouldn't make a difference if they are wired to one battery or two