Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

HL 2 guys

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by k5freak44, Dec 15, 2004.

  1. k5freak44

    k5freak44 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    2,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    For all of you who have HL2 how does it run on your computer. Could i handle it somewhat decently with a 1.7ghz amd athalon 2000+ and a Nividia 5200 FX 128mb graphics card, and 512 memory?

    Im worried that if i get it for christmas, ill just install and be disapointed.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2004
  2. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    i have basically the same rig, except i have an ATI 9500 pro... game ran pretty damn good.. just a couple little slowdowns on the boat and buggy...
     
  3. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    You'll just have to adjust your display details/options down till you are at a frame rate your happy with. I'd say you do ok with medium/low details at an absolute max of 1024x768.

    hehe, my system hauls ass in HL2 with everything on max details @ 1280x1024. :)

    A64 3800+
    X800XT Platinum Edition
    1gb Corsair XMS pro PC3200
    Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro (Sounds good too) :pimp:
     
  4. k5freak44

    k5freak44 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    2,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    Thx Guys
     
  5. Tweetysuarus

    Tweetysuarus 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Posts:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynnhood,WA
    So why does my HL2 get choppy once in awhile?
    I have all the current patches and downloads for the OS & Sound, video.
    OS: Win 2000
    CPU: P4 2.66
    Mem: 512 PC2100
    Sound: SB live 5.1
    Video: Radeon 9000 64mb
    LAN: Cable
    HD: 40GB 7200rpm WD
    DVD/CDR/RW+-
    I know I need a better video card! thats next on the list to update radeon 6800XT 128mb w/500Mhz core clock speed!!!!!!
    Help me please!!!!!!
    Thanx,
     
  6. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    the vid card is definitely lacking and would probably take care of your issues.. the ram is a little light too with pc2100, but probably isn't the prob..
     
  7. Tweetysuarus

    Tweetysuarus 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Posts:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynnhood,WA
    Yup i am in the werks for 1gb pc3300 also!
     
  8. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    games suck ass with windows 2000

    upgrade to xp!!!
     

Share This Page