Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Holley 2d unit?

Discussion in 'Rocky Mountain Region' started by juanblzer, Mar 12, 2003.

  1. juanblzer

    juanblzer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Posts:
    1,614
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    Sandman is selling a holley f.i. setup. Most of you guys know my current setup. (350qjet) Will it work? There are pics of it in the for sale area.
    /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
     
  2. FWP

    FWP CRS

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Posts:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    Where's the post you're talking about, I didn't see it.
     
  3. juanblzer

    juanblzer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Posts:
    1,614
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    doh, i think he deleted it already
    hey i'm in chat now
     
  4. marv_springer

    marv_springer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    Posts:
    2,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    Juan,

    I think I saw the post.... I have a neighbor who's removing an older Holley 2bbl injection system from his Early Bronco. It's not the "programmable" kind, and it has this "box" mounted inside with like 4 or 5 dials. Anyway, he's always f'ing w/it - and he got tired of it so he decided to go GM.

    He'd prolly be willing to sell it, but I'm not sure if it's more trouble than it's worth! /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif

    Marv
     
  5. NoRulz

    NoRulz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2001
    Posts:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    hey marv, it's not brown & kinda flat fendered is it?

    if so, yea, it was running really bad when he dropped it off... I told my buddy to offer him $25 for the old system. I could use some spare parts for mine (I may run it on something again someday)
     
  6. juanblzer

    juanblzer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Posts:
    1,614
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    so is it a pos? I don't want to do fuel injection more than once. I just want to do it. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  7. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Get the factory GM, you won't regret it. The open loop systems will be too much trouble to keep "right".
     
  8. NoRulz

    NoRulz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2001
    Posts:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    I'd agree to do it right the first time, a factory GM setup is far superior to anything aftermarket unless you are running a wildly modified engine that needs special considerations. The kits I've seen installed from both Howell & Turbo city are very nice kits, but they are more expensive. From what I've seen however, you put them on, & once you get the wiring done, & everything bolted down, you'll run for years without having to touch a thing. When I had my pro-jection on my truck, every time I made a signifigant change in altitude, I'd have to screw with it a while to get it to run right. I did buy the closed loop kit for my pro-jection, but never installed it. I havn't used the FI in almost 3 years now, just havn't had a good reason to put it back on.
    Anyway, I'd go with the factory setup over the aftermarket without a second thought if it was in the budget.
     
  9. marv_springer

    marv_springer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    Posts:
    2,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    Yup thats it!...
    /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif
    Marv
     
  10. juanblzer

    juanblzer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Posts:
    1,614
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    It has the optional closed loop setup on it
     
  11. NoRulz

    NoRulz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2001
    Posts:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    hahaha, too funny Marv... but then again, I'm good very friends with the biggest early Bronco guy in town, so I guess it's not...
     
  12. NoRulz

    NoRulz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2001
    Posts:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    I can't say then Juan... I never installed my closed loop kit, acutally ordered it after I took the ProJection off, & still havn't built the new engine that was supposed to go together 2 years ago that I was going to put the injection back on (oops.) I'm still betting the factory style setups would be 10 times better performance wise, & much more reliable than any aftermarket type setup.
     
  13. supersize75

    supersize75 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Posts:
    2,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gilbert az......by Phoenix
    ya I am looking into this as well or a used tbi set up, I can't find one though /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif I think it has some thing to do with the fact that I need one for a big block /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     

Share This Page