Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Holley 670 TB

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by steve_kibbe, Aug 8, 2006.

  1. steve_kibbe

    steve_kibbe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Spartanburg, SC
    I hope to have it on soon, but I want to make a pass on the 1/8th mile before and after:wink1:

    Any body have one...what to expect...other mods necessary?

    holley 670.JPG
     
  2. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    I'm jealous.
     
  3. grimjaw

    grimjaw 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Posts:
    944
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seymour, TN
    Thats not going to fit on the oil burner you are supposely finishing...:D











    Looks real good!
     
  4. bluehen

    bluehen 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Posts:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DE
    I got one. It works.
    The injectors are bigger than your factory, so you'll have to re-tune the computer to match.
    Possible adjustments on the throttle and tv cables.
    To me, the injectors are noisy. I can hear them buzzing. It was pretty annoying when I first started it up, but I've gotten used to it. Especially now that I have a radio.
    Good luck!
     
  5. neverendingproject

    neverendingproject 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    You need to take that cap out as indicted by the arrow.

    You now have and adjustable FPR.

    And add a stud where the center bolt is so you can mount your air cleaner.

    holley 670.JPG
     
  6. steve_kibbe

    steve_kibbe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Spartanburg, SC
    FPR= fuel pressure regulator, correct?
     
  7. steve_kibbe

    steve_kibbe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Spartanburg, SC
    How do I retune the computer? Have a custom chip burnt? Who does it, who would you recomend...:ears:
     
  8. clarkjw24

    clarkjw24 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Posts:
    3,531
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    McBee, SC 29101
    Its not gonna work with your truck. I've got 3 rebuildable qjets that I'll send to you in trade.
     
  9. neverendingproject

    neverendingproject 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Yes fuel pressure regulator. I think they are supposed to work with stock programming, but you can go to www.tbichips.com and he can burn you one on the cheap, if yours doesnt work.
     
  10. steve_kibbe

    steve_kibbe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Spartanburg, SC
    Well in that case...
     
  11. loafer

    loafer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Posts:
    634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lyman, Maine
    If I remember correctly the bore on the 670 Holey is larger than the factory bore in the intake manifold (makes sense), which means you need have the ports in the intake manifold bored out. If you don't, the throttle will open only until the plates hit the intake manifold. Holey sells an adaptor plate to go between the TB and intake, but that kind of defeats the purpose of the larger throttle bores.
     
  12. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    I wish I had known that when I was at your house saturday :doah: :D
     
  13. neverendingproject

    neverendingproject 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Actually, the throttle body was the restriction on airflow, and not so much the manifold. I would bore out the manifold though, you will prolly pick up a bit more CFM.
     
  14. tiger9297

    tiger9297 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Posts:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tupelo, Mississippi
    Congrats on the purchase. I have been looking at TBI's lately and I have a new opinion of them. I thought they were junk for a while but I have come to realize that TBI engines were just weak and not necessarily b/c of the TBI. In fact someone made a post here lately where a carb, TBI, and MPFI all with equal CFM flow were compared and they were basically equal with the MPFI having a slight edge, and the TBI having a slight edge over the carb. http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=180152&highlight=carb%2C+TBI%2C+MPFI

    I have a stock TBI off my old 350 and a stock TBI off of a 454. I definitely plan on holding on to them for future builds. I'd love to find another BBC or 406 SBC and put the 454 TBI on it. I think for cost and simplicity TBI is the way to go. Yea MPFI is better but day to day driving I doubt you'd notice the difference and MPFI costs alot more. Again, congrats on the purchase.
     
  15. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Without seeing the article, I'd like to know what the results are other than peak power?

    "Under the curve" has a lot of meaning, (especially in heavy trucks) and since most dynos start out at 2000RPM, even below that would be useful in knowing.
     
  16. blazinzuk

    blazinzuk Buzzbox voodoo Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Posts:
    17,412
    Likes Received:
    3,799
    Location:
    Afton / Star Valley Wyoming
    Thats a good excuse to buy a throttle body spacer big wide open one then it will probably help to have your chip redone
     
  17. bluehen

    bluehen 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Posts:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DE
    Yeah, Brian at tbichips did my computer. Be sure to tell him what mods you've done.
     
  18. steve_kibbe

    steve_kibbe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Spartanburg, SC
    I emailed him yesterday:D
     

Share This Page