Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Home painting questions

Discussion in 'The Body Shop' started by 77crewcab, Nov 30, 2006.

1. 77crewcab

77crewcab 1/2 ton status

I am a total newb to painting but have some painting I want to do frome small items to a full repaint for a car. I have read several articles about setting up diy paint booths in the garage and I have a few questions.

1. My home a/c unit is in a closet off the garage and I worry about getting paint fumes and dust througout the house even with making a 2x4 and plastic booth.
    2. Ventilation is a concern and I have heard many stories about the dangers of the paint fumes getting in a common box fan and causing a fire. So what is the real scoop and how should it be set up?
    3. I have heard that there is some paints that are more eco friendly as far as fumes etc that are good to use in home setups. Could someone tell me if there is any drawback to using these paints?
    4. I am initially looking for maybe a single stage, solid color paint for the car. Can I then add detail painting like pinstrips or accent paints over this and then clear the whole car.
    5. I have also thought of trying to repaint the burb I just got to go from a 2 tone blue/whiteto a single color blue. Just looking at the exterior no door jambs or anything just something to make it all one color after some minor body work. What would I need to do for this, again using single stage?

2. 77crewcab

77crewcab 1/2 ton status

Read an article today about the Auto Air Colors water based paints. Anyone used them?

3. 77crewcab

77crewcab 1/2 ton status

4. ryoken

ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

hmmm, guess I'll throw out some o-pine-yuns for ya..