Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Hood popping tricks

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 78 k5, May 25, 2005.

1. 78 k5

78 k5 1/2 ton status

Anybody know a way to get a later model (1990) hood popped when the pull cord in the cab doesnt work :confused:

2. K5er4Life

K5er4Life 1/2 ton status

Is the cord connected but the hood just doesnt pop up? Or is the cable broken and you cant open the hood at all? My latch always sticks a little so after I pull the handle I go and give a little rap on the top front portion of my hood. That always seems to get her loose. I have been doing it that way for the last 5 years and has worked everytime. But last year I took the latch apart and cleaned everything off really good, sprayed a litttle lithium grease in their and tossed it back on and now it works every time. I dont have any suggestions if your cable is broke, just hope nothing goes wrong in your engine for the rest of the time that you own your truck. :rolleyes: There was a post not too long ago about how to open your hood with a broke cable I think.

3. RootBreaker

RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

agreed
    we need to know if you hear the cable pulling the lever.. or is the cable disconnected...

mine was acting up... I had to pull the lever then grab and YANK the hood hard... opened it up and white lithiumed the hood lock latch and the springs on the sides...

now opens with every pop :grin:

4. 88sub4x4

88sub4x4 1/2 ton status

My cable was stretched out, so I used a screwdriver to get it open, then I hooked up a coat hanger to pull in case the handle didn't work.

5. K5er4Life

K5er4Life 1/2 ton status

Nice, I like it, good ole redneck style but hey whatever works right? :saweet:

6. R72K5

R72K5 Banned