Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

hooking radio up to another socket?

Discussion in 'Audio' started by bryguy00b, Mar 22, 2003.

  1. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    how do i wire my radio to another fuse? the one for it is damaged so i need to re-wire it to another socket...how do i do this?
     
  2. '72brett

    '72brett 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Posts:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    northwest Iowa
    posting 1 2 3 4
     
  3. '72brett

    '72brett 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Posts:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    northwest Iowa
    wire it right to your ign. swich with a fuse on it
     
  4. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    how do i do that though? i tryed looking for this orange wire underneath the dash which i was told was the power wire for the radio or something liek that and i didnt see anything...
     
  5. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    All you need is a switchable power sorce at the fuce box, and a non switchable sorce. Red to a fuce that is only hot when key is on. Orange or Yellow (Memmory wire on stereo) to a fuce that is hot all the time.
     
  6. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,680
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018
    If you have a "test light" you can solve this quickly.

    First you have to determine if you want a power source that is "constant hot" (like what radios use to remember station presets) or a "key on" power source, which is more commonly used to allow the radio to play only when a key is in the ignition.....

    With a test light, you will be able to determine what OTHER fuses in the fuseblock are "constant hot" and which are "key on" power sources....from there, the decision about which one to use should become clear. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  7. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    ok thanx ill give it a try..
     
  8. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    whayt if there is not a free wire to splice it to though?
     
  9. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    You don't need to splice into a wire. Go to the fuce itself.
     

Share This Page