Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

hooking up msd 6al and ignition control

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by RootBreaker, Mar 5, 2007.

  1. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    Ok so my stuff came in today...

    well it wont be for a few weeks until I get to actually install them.. however I need to figure this out ahead of time...

    the instruction manual (online as wasnt included)
    http://www.msdignition.com/pdf/6%20series/6series.pdf

    anyway.. how did yall hook up your 6al?
    im confused as they show but im not positive...

    I guess I need to use the layout for
    GM Ignitions Wiring with an MSD Wiring Harness and Timing Control

    so first thing.. does that mean I have to buy the harness since I have the timing control?

    second... wire it like they have it or is there a way I can wire it without that harness?
    I am going to call them tomorrow but wasnt sure...
     
  2. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    cmon guys no one? some of you are running the 6al....


    I got
    [​IMG]
    and
    [​IMG]

    now the non automotive electrical guru that I am not needs assistance...
    how do you wire these things?

    think I need to follow pg 16
    GM Ignitions Wiring an HEI 4 Pin Module (Magnetic PIckup Trigger)
    however it doesnt show the ignition control
    that is on bottom of pg 15
    msd 6al manual
    http://msdignition.com/pdf/6%20series/6series.pdf
    now that im looking...
    guess pg 5 of this
    http://msdignition.com/pdf/8680_frm%2024828.pdf
    Figure 9 Installation to a GM HEI with a 4-pin module (magnetic trigger)
    guess the only concern here is the harness pn 8860 and 8861....
    I dont remember wires on the side of the distributor that I could plug into like that......

    anyone wanna come wire this thing up for me?
    goodies are free beer, lunch and this...
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Slapperbar

    Slapperbar Retired Navy NDT Examiner Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Harrison City, Pennsylvania
    If you have the new style coil page 15 looks right. The old style big cap HEI is the one you pointed out on pg.5 of the other link.
     
  4. Slapperbar

    Slapperbar Retired Navy NDT Examiner Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Harrison City, Pennsylvania
    Pictures of your setup would help a lot.
     
  5. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    well my setup is a straight forward.. 1978

    hei distributor from a 1978 chevy 350

    only pic under the hood....
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Slapperbar

    Slapperbar Retired Navy NDT Examiner Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Harrison City, Pennsylvania
    This came in your kit, install it for the trigger. I think it's 8861. It plugs in place of the module in the HEI.
    [​IMG]
    This is to run the Blaster coil.
    [​IMG]
    The rest is power and such.
     
  7. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    well here is the deal... I got all this used on ebay...

    I dont have that wire... so I may have to buy it???

    I am not going to use the coil....

    just the msd 6al and timing control.
     
  8. Slapperbar

    Slapperbar Retired Navy NDT Examiner Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Harrison City, Pennsylvania
    Get the wire. The Checkers I used to go to carried a whole lot of MSD stuff.
     
  9. royjones

    royjones Trucker upper Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    somewhere close to ya
    hello

    the msd website will have all of the wirieing diagrams if you need them keep the box in a kool place and out of water
     
  10. royjones

    royjones Trucker upper Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    somewhere close to ya
  11. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    that is the offroad msd...


    i have the link to the manual... the problem is they dont show the hookup of the timing control and 6al on a hei diagramed together
    im gonna call them tomorrow hopefully
     
  12. jtrux

    jtrux 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Don't worry about lunch, just pay for the plane ticket and i'll take care of it.
     
  13. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    :haha:

    got a local and I mean LOCAL coming over once I figure out when I want to do this... he is in the same town as I..... :bow: plus he put one in his truck and also has an extra cable that I need!!!!!! :wink1:
     
  14. SkysTheLimit

    SkysTheLimit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    MSD has a tech forum where you can get help hooking up your stuff. I have a 6AL as well but I'm using their dizzy & blaster coil so my hookup is different. It takes a couple hours to get your newly registered account activated so you can post but once you do post, you should have an answer in a couple hours.
     
  15. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    I did that and can login.. but dont have rights to post.. dunno why.. :crazy:

    says I dont have permissions...
     
  16. SkysTheLimit

    SkysTheLimit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    It takes a little while before a Mod will activate your account and give you the right to post. It took them a few hours when I signed up a while back.
     
  17. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    yeah im on 2 days now.. maybe i will try now...
     
  18. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    just tried...

    RootBreaker, you do not have permission to access this page. This could be due to one of several reasons:
    1. Your user account may not have sufficient privileges to access this page. Are you trying to edit someone else's post, access administrative features or some other privileged system?
    2. If you are trying to post, the administrator may have disabled your account, or it may be awaiting activation.
    also when I login I get
    Welcome, RootBreaker.
    You last visited: 03-06-2007 at 06:55 AM
    Private Messages: Unread 0, Total 0.

    but member list is
    root
    rootdoc

    so RootBreaker doesnt exist under members...

    HAAAA and I emailed them well email from a link on the forum site.. but dont know if that was the right one...
     
  19. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

    83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Posts:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
  20. Slapperbar

    Slapperbar Retired Navy NDT Examiner Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Harrison City, Pennsylvania
    Yup! You need PN's 8860 and 8861 to get all to work. As ^^^^He said, Figure 9 all the way. BTW 8861 replaces the module in the distributor.
     

Share This Page