Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Hose routing/pluging

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by RustyNailJustin, Dec 14, 2005.

  1. RustyNailJustin

    RustyNailJustin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction CO, Klamath Falls OR
    Wondering how guys with no heaters pluged or routed the hoses back to the pump on a smalblock.
    there are the 2 ports on the water pump the port under the thermostat housing and the port on the manifold.
     
  2. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Just get pipe plugs the same thread as the hose fittings .

    Or just get a piece of hose and jump them together .
     
  3. RustyNailJustin

    RustyNailJustin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction CO, Klamath Falls OR
    Problem with that is the ports on the pump are not threaded fittings the only threaded fitting is the the one on the manifold. I could just jump on to the other to the other as long as flow is correct
     
  4. trailblazr81

    trailblazr81 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Posts:
    931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    If you cant put a plug in the water pump (which Ive done on my Chevy's) run a short piece of hose from water pump to manifold. My current motor is all plugged with pipe fittings. My heater core is F'ed n I dont really need a heater. If I get cold I have a jacket and a beanie. Also use Fog-X and a rag.
     
  5. RustyNailJustin

    RustyNailJustin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction CO, Klamath Falls OR
    I just want to jump from port to port with short runs of hose but not sure where to connect the one from under the Tstat:o seems like little stuff screws me up more than anything:rolleyes:
    BTW no windshield, just a trail rig
     
  6. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    OK , you have a Vortec . Fill out oyur profile , I had to search your posts to find out !

    Makes sense now . Well , if you do not want heater , you can do a little more involved approach .

    Pull the hose barb out of where it is and tap the hole for a plug .

    OR , cut the barbed end off , and sweat a cap on .

    OR , cut the barbed end off each one , get compression fitting with a 1/4 turn stop .
     

Share This Page