Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Hot Wire for CD player

Discussion in 'Audio' started by Zepplin, Jan 25, 2001.

  1. Zepplin

    Zepplin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2000
    Posts:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay City, MI 48706
    Last weekend I hooked up my new CD player and my Tuffy center console. Everything works fine but I need to find a hot wire that keeps the clock and station presets memory. Right now I have it hooked into the ignition outlet on the fuse block. Everytime I turn the key off the clock and station presets are lost.

    Thanks in advance

    74 Blazer
    Ramble On
     
  2. Cmoe

    Cmoe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2000
    Posts:
    2,884
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa,AZ
    Mines connected mine to the lighter ( I stopped smoking awhile ago).... Jump in yours and see if you lighter has power when your key is out......

    C'moe

    <font color=black>the blazer is "Back in Black"
     
  3. Zepplin

    Zepplin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2000
    Posts:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay City, MI 48706
    Thanks,

    That is a good idea. I don't smoke either so I shouldn't miss it.

    74 Blazer
    Ramble On
     
  4. DBLAZER

    DBLAZER 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2000
    Posts:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haslet, Tx
    That is actually the same wire that you are supposed to use. I wouldnt disconnect the lighter, just tap into that wire. You never know when you will want to plug something in. Phone, spot light, charger, etc etc etc..........

    [​IMG]
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://dblazer.coloradok5.com>http://dblazer.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  5. bigblue

    bigblue 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2000
    Posts:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    southern california
    that's what i did. i tapped right into that puppy.

    baja surf nazi
     
  6. Zepplin

    Zepplin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2000
    Posts:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay City, MI 48706
    I tapped into to it and everything works fine. Thanks for the info guys.

    74 Blazer
    Ramble On
     
  7. TheBlazerKid

    TheBlazerKid 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2000
    Posts:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raymond, Washington
    I gotta do tihs to mine, It wont save my presets and audio controls, so just tap into teh main power line?

    Theres No Replacement for Cubic Inches!
     

Share This Page