Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

how acurate is your oil gauge?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by ahx, Sep 10, 2004.

  1. ahx

    ahx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wayne, NJ
    I jsut finished rebu8ilding my 88 k5 engine and added a high flow fuel pump. when i step on the gas it swings to around 50 psi. at startup its pinned. at idle its only at about 4 or 5 psi. this seems quite low. anyone have similar readings?
     
  2. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    What kind of gauges are you using?

    Mine are Stewart-Warner, and 2 1/2" or so, and 270* sweep.

    In a word, they're kinda accurate. /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  3. ahx

    ahx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wayne, NJ
    stock gauge.
     
  4. dmanblazer

    dmanblazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Posts:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, Kansas
    I removed my factory guages and put Sunpro guages in their place, I still use my factory speedo and fuel guage.
     
  5. ahx

    ahx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wayne, NJ
    how did you get them to fit into the dash. jsut cut the cluster behind the original gauge?
     
  6. J.R.

    J.R. Guest

    i checked my factory gauges and they are right on the money. but 5-10 psi at idle is low to me
     
  7. ahx

    ahx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wayne, NJ
    yeah well i replaced the gauge and sender and i have about 45psi now. now i have to deal with my check engine light. and also my blown heater core. one thing right after another.
     
  8. dmanblazer

    dmanblazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Posts:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, Kansas
    [ QUOTE ]
    how did you get them to fit into the dash. jsut cut the cluster behind the original gauge?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I took out the old guages and made the holes just big enough for the new guages, then I cut the bezel in half and just used the part that goes over the two big guages. Wired up my lights to the dimmer switch and whola it works it's lasted 4 yrs so far. I also did it to my 1980 Firebird, I used the mini guages.
     
  9. 87BrnRsd

    87BrnRsd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boone, North Carolina
    I have the stock oil pressure guage and an aftermarket gauage in my truck. Normally the stock gauage is somewhat accurate, but I have seen it off between 10-15 psi before. The biggest problem I have with the stock guage is that it is not as responsive as the aftermarket guage.
    -Harrison
     
  10. Nonesuch

    Nonesuch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Posts:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin(Leander), TX
    I have water and oil temp gauges out of a Catapiller 973 front end track loader /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif
     

Share This Page