Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

How can I tell if I have a mechanical stock oil gauge?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by wazzabie, Aug 7, 2005.

  1. wazzabie

    wazzabie 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2001
    Posts:
    1,719
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Washington State
    How can I tell if I have a mechanical stock oil gauge?

    1978 K5 Blazer

    I would like to get a tach off ebay and install. Hope to do just a bolt in with the cluster.
     
  2. camiswelding

    camiswelding 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Posts:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    look for the line running to the oil pressure sender,,, it has fluid and not electricity flowing thru it :D
     
  3. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Do you have a copper looking hardline from the back of the engine to the gauge ?

    I have a 77 body that had one .

    I don't know about 78 , as the 78 Sub in the back yard HAD a tach dash and a sender with a wire on it for oil .
     
  4. mechted

    mechted 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Granbury, TX
    there is also a peg visible on the guage face that acts as a zero stop, if no peg, then electric guage
     
  5. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    most all 78-up were electric, but who knows whats in it now,

    just look behind distributor to see if theres a tube or a wire plugged on
     
  6. wazzabie

    wazzabie 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2001
    Posts:
    1,719
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Washington State
    It is electric. How hard is it to change to mechanical? What are the advantages/ disadvantages of using the mechanical?
     
  7. jhellwig

    jhellwig 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Posts:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bonaparte, Ia
    It isn't hard. All you have to do is run the hard line. Electric gauges have more of a tendancy to shoot craps. The only thing with a mechanical gauge is if the supply line breaks in the cab.
     
  8. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    To change to mechanical, all you need to do is get a mechanical gauge and swap the sensor to a mechanical sensor/fitting. Pretty easy....

    Only drawback that I see is the oil line running to the cab... Mine liked to leak a little here and there.
     

Share This Page