Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

How Do I adjust my Kickdown Cable?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 78Blazer, Mar 15, 2001.

  1. 78Blazer

    78Blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Is there any way to adjust this cable and how? I had to replace it when I put the motor in my 84 cuz when I pulled the motor out of the 78 I kinda forgot to unhook it[​IMG] and it broke. The new cable seemed to be quite a bit longer then the one that came off from it.

    Scott
    78blazer<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1>Edited by 78blazer on 03/15/01 05:31 PM (server time).</FONT></P>
     
  2. 78Blazer

    78Blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    [​IMG]

    Scott
    78blazer
     
  3. lowlevell

    lowlevell 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Posts:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Ohio, USA
    Ok, i'll try to help. I beleive that the cable (ends) are premade. That meaning they are factory crimped and non ajustable. The "slack" in the cable is already preset i believe. So my suggestion would be to add a ferrel to one end to make up for some slack ( if too much slack is your problem). If it is kicking down to early/soon i'm not sure what you can do. Hope i made some sense here. Good luck.

    One From None
     
  4. Blazer79

    Blazer79 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,816
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Guatemala, Central America
    I think there was a post a while ago about this. If memory serves well, the cable has to have no slack when WOT, as in fully extended.

    I'm not sure about this. Do a search.

    <font color=blue>//////
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://blazer79.coloradok5.com>http://blazer79.coloradok5.com</A>
    </font color=blue>[​IMG]
     
  5. KING K5

    KING K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2000
    Posts:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca.
    I need to know this to since I just bought a new kickdown cable and am going to be installing it real soon. Any problems that I should know about in the installation of this?
    Thanks!
    Jeff
     
  6. 78Blazer

    78Blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Well the cable I got wich is supposively the right one seems to be a few inches longer then the one that came off from it so when I stomp on it I get nothing. Sometimes it does seem to work though.

    Scott
    78blazer
     
  7. smp

    smp 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2000
    Posts:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    You should have an adjustment at a bracket by your throttle linkage it is a plastic clip that you pry up and then get someone to push the gas pedal to the floor (engine off) and hold it there and then push the clip back in then drive it and see what you think if it holds the down shift too long then you can go back and adjust it with a little less than WOT that is what i had to do on my TH-350. It is a little pain to get the hook on the rod at the tranny but not to hard and make sure you get the O-ring i forgot that and had to go back to the store.






    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://WWW.SMP.COLORADOK5.COM>http://WWW.SMP.COLORADOK5.COM</A>
     
  8. 78Blazer

    78Blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    hey thanks for the info I will have to check it out tommorow and see what I come up with.


    Scott
    78blazer
     
  9. i recently did a motor swap and both my vehicle and the doner truck had th350s. however, when i went to hook up the kickdown it was too short. what i found was that my old motor and the new one had kickdown brackets in different locations. i simply swapped the old bracket onto the new motor. you may only need to change brackets. one mounted on the back of the carb and the other mounted on the back of the manifold. hope this helps

    78, 350/350/203, 3/4 ton, 4" lift, 35" BFGs
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://bluebeast.coloradok5.com/>http://bluebeast.coloradok5.com/</A>
     

Share This Page