Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

How do i hook up a Amp!?

Discussion in 'Audio' started by RockaFella, Oct 30, 2002.

  1. RockaFella

    RockaFella Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Posts:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina, Rockhill
    How do i hook up a Amp To a In House Radio?
     
  2. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    What do you mean by "In house radio" ??? If you mean alike a home stereo, first you'll need line level converters, and a large regulated power suply. Hope that helps.
     
  3. Rebel-Rider

    Rebel-Rider 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Posts:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Dakota
    go to walmart and get an adapter (charger) that goes from the wall to 12 volts and has a bunch of diff plugs on the ends then cut the plug off and hook it up
     
  4. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Be nice if that would work, but it won't have the amprage to power a amp. You need a regulated power suply like used for a Linair amp in base operation. Those little universal adaptors just ain't got the "Mussel" You'd need something like this http://www.hyelectronics.com/ps14k.jpg
     
  5. WakeBoard&4X4er

    WakeBoard&4X4er 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Posts:
    2,325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lee's Summit, Mo
    "In House Radio" do not think i have heard of that brand!
     
  6. RingMaster4x4

    RingMaster4x4 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bartlett, Texas
    What i would do is find the LARGEST 12 volt batt tree and use a trickle charger to re-charge battery. Had a friend with one worked great. Be sure to place battery on some sorta tray(they dont like carpet)but keep the wattage down... the more wattage, the more amperage(more heat)
    dont be a carpet burner. /forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif
     
  7. Prembird

    Prembird 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Posts:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kc, mo.
    Well there are a couple different was to do that... First would be to just hook up the amp to a car battery and put a charger on it... Then there are setups that would cost you more then a nice home audio system would...

    My personal suggestion would be this...

    Get an ac to dc power converter/charger... They arent that expensive but get one that has a decent output on it..

    Get a small 12v battery, Like the ones used in lawn mowers and atv's.. hook the converter/charger up to the battery... Then then power and grounds to the battery..

    The battery will end up acting like an insolator in case of any power spikes or droped voltage due to inconsistant power output out of the wall... Wouldnt want the amp blowing up on yea or anything...

    Also only turn the setup on when you are wanting to use it...

    The other was include dismantling your truck and reassembeling it in your front room... Although that might be interesting...
     
  8. BozoWise

    BozoWise 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    If you are really wanting to do it give me a shout and I will sell you a regulated power supply large enough to run all your 12volt goodies. No battery acid no charging. Flip switch and go for it.
     

Share This Page