Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

How Do I tune with my Ignition installed

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Chaotical, Jun 11, 2001.

  1. Chaotical

    Chaotical Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLC, UT
    I just put on my Jacobs Ignition (Finally) and Its being a pain in the ass..
    at first I was preigniting and so it overheated BIG TIME... then
    I adjusted the timing by retarding it and it seemed to work ok but then somtimes when I put it in drive or reverse the damn thing would die.... so I adjusted the idle and the choke.. now its working ok but stil feels funny... Any Idea's?

    The whole damn Ign it making my Jimmy out of wack!! what the hell is wrong?
    I have not noticed anything different from my Accell HEI coil..
    so should I take it in and have it Dyno'ed to perfection or what?

    By the way if any one knows where I can take it to get checked and tuned in Salt Lake City.. I'd like to know who?
    Any help
    Thanks
    Shane

    85 Jimmy 4" Lift, 3" body bought have not installed yet, Dana 44, 14bff,
    37" SSR's Yes they FIT with a 4" lift and don't rub.
     
  2. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    I have not heard anything good about Jacobs Ign. Many other people on this board have had negative experiences with jacobs ign also.
    If you cant get it to work take it back. And get a MSD 6-a or MSD offroad ign. it is a simple plug and play install.They work good and are very dependable and cost a lot less.
    Check it out:<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.msdignition.com>http://www.msdignition.com</A>
     
  3. CaptCrunch

    CaptCrunch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Posts:
    3,596
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I agree w/ Thunder... not a word of good about Jacobs unless they are payind for it (read: advertisment). I have all msd on my truck and it is awsome! I'd rip the crap off and make them live up to the warranty... although they will hassle the heck out of you. I'd set the timing to stock specs... make sure the jacobs box and the advance (either elec or vacuun line) is unplugged. Then gap you plugs at about .060 for the best results

    -Mikey
    1987 Chevy K5 Blazer- 350 TBI
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.geocities.com/milnerlives_2000/blazer.htm>http://www.geocities.com/milnerlives_2000/blazer.htm</A>
     
  4. Chaotical

    Chaotical Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLC, UT
    I have my plugs at .065 and everything is set up alright.. but its still being a lil bastered.... My old Accel worked better... hopfully I can get it dialed in right before I use a baseball bat to do it...
    anyone else have a personal experience with a jacobs.. good or bad?

    85 Jimmy 4" Lift, 3" body bought have not installed yet, Dana 44, 14bff,
    37" SSR's Yes they FIT with a 4" lift and don't rub.
     

Share This Page