Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

how do i wire these?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bigbadchev84, Oct 2, 2006.

  1. bigbadchev84

    bigbadchev84 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hermiston, Oregon
    i tried the audio forum, but not much input there, i am wanting to get these fixed quick! I have a 4ohm amp and these subs that are 2ohm or 8ohm dvcs they are 10" Orion xtr3s i have them in a bandpass box and they are bridged with the +s wired together and the -s wired together they hit decent down low, but when i go to turn it up 1/2way the amp starts to cut out i have tried 3 different amps with the same thing. im sure i have them wired wrong. any ideas?

    for sale 035.jpg

    for sale 036.jpg

    for sale 037.jpg
     
  2. 78Suburban

    78Suburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    the rockford fosgate wiring wizard should tell you
     
  3. bigbadchev84

    bigbadchev84 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hermiston, Oregon
    got a link?
     
  4. 78Suburban

    78Suburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
  5. 78Suburban

    78Suburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    also, you have to know the ohm load of your subs.. test them out with a multimeter.
     
  6. SkysTheLimit

    SkysTheLimit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    If you have all the positive sides wired together, that's your problem. 4ohm voice coils, 2 each, wired in parallel and then the subs paralleled will present a 1 ohm load to your amp that is only "rated" to 4ohm. So far you're lucky your amp has only cut out and not checked out. :eek1:

    You got two choices and maybe an audio engineer will correct me but as far as I know, there's no difference. 1) put your VC's in series and the subs parallel. That will be a 4ohm load. 2) put your VC's in parallel and the subs in series. Same end result.

    Personally, I've always used option 1. Why? I dunno but my 2 12's hit like a mofo.
     
  7. btolenti

    btolenti 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Posts:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    X2.
     
  8. Brians89K5

    Brians89K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rialto Ca.
    I have my subs wired in at 1 ohm and it hits hard too. But my amp is 1ohm stable. :D Go with Sky's the limits idea, it'll work. G'luck

    ~Brian
     

Share This Page