Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

How do you like your lunchbox locker?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 84_Chevy_K10, Mar 25, 2003.

1. 84_Chevy_K10

84_Chevy_K10 Banned

I have actually never owned a vehicle with a locking differential unless you count a gov-loc which doesn't work all that well anyway so I'm new to the locker world.

I just bought a Lock-Right for my new daily driver rig, a 2000 Ford Ranger 4x4. I hope it's not going to drive me nuts. I doubt it will once I get used to it, which shouldn't take long.

Yeah I know it sucks that I bought a Ford. Couldn't find any S10 4x4s with 5 speeds which is a must-have. Too bad too, I would have rather had one. Either way the Ranger gets an honest to God 23 MPG so I'm not complaining. That was including some Chicago traffic in that tank too, I bet I can do better on the highway.

This truck is going to be a test dummy. If I like this Lock-Right I'm putting one in the front of my big truck.

So, anyway, how do you like your lunchbox locker? I payed $300 for mine shipped to the door.

2. dysphemism

dysphemism 1/2 ton status

I've got a locker in the rear of my 72. I think it rides fine, sometimes it kicks in when you dont want it to, mostly around corners if you give if gas. Overall I'd say its not big deal driving it on the street.

3. Sandman

Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

I've got the Dynotrax lovker in my front Dana 60. Its supposed to be stonger than the the Lock Rite (made by the same people). I've pounded mine with 40" boggers and a healthy big block with no problems.

4. Leadfoot

Leadfoot 1/2 ton status Premium Member

I have the Loc-Rites front and rear of mine. No complaints.