Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

How do you shorten cable?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by K5MONSTERCHEV, Jun 12, 2004.

  1. K5MONSTERCHEV

    K5MONSTERCHEV 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Posts:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castro Valley, CA
    Is there a way to shorten cable, like throttle cable, and put the end back on? My buddy did it but cant remember what he did exactly.
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    They make pieces to do what you are talking about. I *think* they are called cable ferrules.

    I know my local non-chain (read: huge selection of nuts, bolts, and assorted) carries them, along with braided small diameter cable...I used them to secure the pins that hold my trailer sides on, that way I couldn't loose the pins.
     
  3. K5MONSTERCHEV

    K5MONSTERCHEV 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Posts:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castro Valley, CA
    HMM, ill have to look into it.
     
  4. Mastiff

    Mastiff 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    The problem with throttle cable is that both ends are kind of custom. I eventually shortened mine by cutting it off at the pedal end and putting on one of those things -- it's got a hole in it to put the cable through, then a screw you tighten into the hole to clamp the cable. It's not ideal because it doesn't fit correctly into the spot on the pedal, but it works.

    I was always paranoid that it would slip out in busy traffic or something though, so I went back to the factory length cable and modified the bracket instead.
     
  5. K5MONSTERCHEV

    K5MONSTERCHEV 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Posts:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castro Valley, CA
    Cool, ill look into somehting like that for temopary.
     
  6. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    What about pulling the cable through the "fitting" on the pedal (I guess this is '73-91 at least) and then clamping it with a ferrule or something?

    I believe the GM cables use steel pieces clamped to the cable, I believe the stuff I have is aluminum, so there will be some loss of "reliability" there.
     
  7. K5MONSTERCHEV

    K5MONSTERCHEV 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Posts:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castro Valley, CA
    Yeah, thats what my buddie had said. My pedal is the same, i can pull it through the hole then the plastic piece goes around the cable and in the pedal.
    That would probablly work. Ill have to go look for some and see though.
     

Share This Page