Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

How hard is it to install a body lift on an IFS truck?

Discussion in '1992-Present Chevy & GMC models' started by afroman006, Jan 21, 2004.

1. afroman006

afroman006 1/2 ton status

My friend bought a body lift for his 97 Z71 and wants me to help him put it on. I've never done any kind of body lift before so I only have a general idea of what to do. Anyone have any idea how long it will take someone like me to do? Any little things I need to watch out for? Thx

2. bryguy00b

bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

well i cant speak much ive never done one or owned a newer chevy, but im guessing its like any other body lift really, how high is it? as usual watch for lines/wires anything thats connected to the frame and body, shifter linkage problems..stuff like that..other than thats its a matter of getting the body bolts loose, lifting the body up..one side at a time and slipping the pucks in and rebolting the body down. oh yea and watch the fan shroud. would be a good time to do body mounts to, but with a truck that new probobly wont need them, inless you wanna upgrade to the poly mounts, which i plan ot do with my truck.

3. 89K1500Chevy

89K1500Chevy 1/2 ton status

ITs all easy you just have to make sure you follow the directions on the newer style trucks mine was very very easy. it took me and a buddy about 4 hours to put on there easy to do so expect 4 to 8 hours of work. We had to get it done by that night so we worked fast. Have fun /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

4. afroman006

The only thing I am knowingly concerned about is the fan shroud. The shift linkage is a cable so thats no problem. Its a 3" and we have air tools and anything we'll need at my shop.

5. bryguy00b

bryguy00b 3/4 ton status