Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

how hard is it to regear.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bryguy00b, Jul 2, 2003.

  1. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    ok..to make things short..my truck has 3.08..i wanna run 33's..how hard would it be to swap the 3.73 gears in my blazer with that in my truck?
     
  2. SUBFAN

    SUBFAN 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davenport, Ia
    Easy, just find a set of axles and swap 'em in....Hardest part of that is bleeding the brakes again....

    prolly cheaper too....
     
  3. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    i wanna put them in the 10 bolts under my truck ...and swap them with the 10 bolts under my blazer..instead of swapping axles all together..but what does bleeding the brakes have to do with it? /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
     
  4. SUBFAN

    SUBFAN 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davenport, Ia
    I've never changed gears, never tried....To me personally, changing axles IS easier....

    Do a search, there are a few write ups on this very subject, to include different axles....
     
  5. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    Changing axles is MUCH easier than changing gears. Ive done both a few times now and would much rather swap an axle.
     
  6. 75-K5

    75-K5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    5,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anderson, Indiana
    But when you get new gears, you know they're new. When you swap axles, who knows how old the gears and other parts are.
     
  7. big pappa b

    big pappa b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Posts:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falcon, Colorado
    I'm sure you can find a new set of axles for much less than half what it would cost you to buy new gears and have someone set them up for you....if cost is an issue /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     
  8. georgiared84

    georgiared84 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2002
    Posts:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austell, Georgia
    While changing axles is technically easier, you can do a gear swap on a 10 bolt fairly painlessly.It does take a few special tools. You need a pinion depth gauge, and feeler gauges. (I've seen them on ebay for fairly cheap.) If you go to www.ringpinion.comn, they have excellent information. My gear kit came with better instructions than the GM axle book I have.
     
  9. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    You need a bearing puller, a press, a dial indicator with magnetic base, a good torque wrench that reads in inch/pounds, and a way to hold the pinion gear while tightening the pinion nut to get the proper preload on the crush bearing. And oh yeah, a tractor trailer load of patience! /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif You will most likely have to install and remove the gears many times before you get the pattern correct. It's much easier to get the pinion depth set correctly the first time if you have a pinion gauge depth measuring tool, but those cost big bucks. /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif

    This is NOT a job for a novice mechanic. You're dealing with tolerances of just a few thousandths of an inch, and if you set up the gears incorrectly they will self destruct very quickly. Get it wrong just a few thousandths either way and you just wasted a few hundred dollars and a lot of your time. Get it right and you'll be happy about all the money that you just saved! /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif

    BTW, if you decide to do the gears yourself, don't even mess with the factory ratios. I'd go straight to 4.56's with 33's and a 700R4. That will give you great performance, and will still work good when you decide that you'd really rather have 35's. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif
     
  10. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    hmm well from what you guys are saying i think i better just swap the axles! the axles i wanna swap have 3.73 and i wanna run 33's with them. with 3.08 its just outa the question for me. so im ganna pullem and replace what needs to be to make them drivable then swap them i guess. then swap them in...get the tires..then coems a lift. i would get 3/4 with like 4:10 someplace but i dont have the money right now. i need it for other things and these axles are rgiht here so i mgiht as well usem. probobly will get replaced with 3/4 down the road anyhow..
     

Share This Page