Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

How long does it take to take a top off?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by four50four, Jun 23, 2000.

1. four50four

four50four Registered Member

Hey, in trying to convince my dad to take the top off (actually let ME take the top off) he says it will take like four hours and that it weighs a ton. I really have no comeback to this as I've never done this before, so, how long does it take, and how heavy is the thing?

Keith

2. jimmyjack

jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

dunno what year your blazer is but i have an 83 and it takes about 20 minutes. take off the bolts on the top rail. there are two more underneath. DO NOT FORGET THESE. unplug your wires and pop a corner and lift gently so as to not to tear the seal. 409 helps loosen the seal. the top isnt really very heavy my wife helps me take mine off. find a place to set it down and your there. good luck
    creepin and crawlin
    Jim

3. Burt4x4

Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

15 min. and one buddy and thats with a full convertable top!!
    Tell pops he needs to ride with the top off to get him to feel FREEEEEE.....[​IMG]
    Goood Luck

Rock ON![​IMG] 72 K5 [​IMG] Led Zeppelin
    http://burt4x4.coloradok5.com

4. BigBurban

BigBurban 1/2 ton status

Usually takes me about two seconds if it's one of those front latching kind... Those rear latching one's with 3 or more hooks can give me trouble sometimes though. [​IMG]

<font color=blue>~BigBurban</font color=blue>
    [​IMG]

5. Eric

Eric Registered Member

Took me and a friend about 45 minutes, was not that heavy. Only reason I needed a friend was because the weight is awkward, didn't want it slip off a side. Don't forget those two rear bolts.

Can't beat going topless!

One eyed super fly- watch out!
    86 K5 Blazer