Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

How many guys have widescreen monitors?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Can Can, Jan 2, 2006.

  1. Can Can

    Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    15,552
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
    I'm just curious, because the forums are STILL off-centred for me, and someone mentioned it looks good on their widescreen monitor, which got me thinking.

    Like I said in another thread, CK5 forums are the only page that I see this way, but it appears that only a few of us are experiencing it.:dunno:
     
  2. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Widescreen on my laptop, regular screen on the family computer...looks fine on both.
     
  3. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    I think mine is square and its centered.
     
  4. darkshadow

    darkshadow 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    12,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    C-eh-N-eh-D-eh
    it is centered on mone, non wide screen, with the two bars of useless space
     
  5. jac6695

    jac6695 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Christiansburg, VA
    Regular screen on both. Looks fine to me, other then like everyone else, too much blank screen on each side of the forum.
     
  6. spongeidys

    spongeidys 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dillion, CO and Palmerton, PA
    also have the 2 bars of useless space
     
  7. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    I have a widescreen laptop ( I am the one Can Can is referring to) and a regular PC monitor however it is a 17.1" LCD Flat Panel. It looks fine on both.

    Maybe it is the exchange rate from US pixels to Canadian pixels.:D

    Ira
     
  8. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    I have 4 - 24" wide screen crt's... .looks good on all 4 :haha:
     
  9. Cricket

    Cricket 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Flat screen Compaq TFT8020.

    All is well in my dimension. There is a 1.25" space on either side but they are equidistant to the square of my radius.
     
  10. cbbr

    cbbr 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    14,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    High velocity, Low altitude
    Widescreen o the laptop. Looks great on my PDA.
     
  11. 4by4bygod

    4by4bygod 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Posts:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    With My Tinfoil Hat
    No wide screen monitors here.

    I have to re - center mine, every page I bring up on here. The whole thing starts off over to the right. I can only see half of the smilies, for example.

    I played with the resolution, and it makes everything too damn small and hard to read.

    This is sort of a pain in the butt. the colors look nice, though.


    Tom
     
  12. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Same here.
     
  13. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    it may be the resolution everyone is running. right now I am running 1280 by 1024 and that makes everything smaller compared to what I usually have at 1164 and 854.
     
  14. theperfectgarage

    theperfectgarage 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    988
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    tucson arizona
    Ditto for me.
     
  15. Can Can

    Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    15,552
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
    I tried the same thing and got the same results. This is driving me friggin' crazy!!!!:mad: :mad: :mad:
     
  16. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,173
    Likes Received:
    1,384
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Centered with useless bars of empty space on both sides. 19" LCD flat panel, not widescreen. 1024x768 resolution.

    Rene
     
  17. Cricket

    Cricket 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    What browser are you using?
     
  18. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    nope. 19" running 1600x1200 though. Wish I could afford a nice flat widescreen.
     
  19. Can Can

    Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    15,552
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
    I'm assuming that the new setup is designed for 17" and up monitors where the smaller resolution is still readable. 1024 x 768 makes the text so small it's impossible to read on my 15" monitor. And the text in the thread body isn't affected by changing the "text size" configuration, either.:mad:
     
  20. 4by4bygod

    4by4bygod 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Posts:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    With My Tinfoil Hat

    I'm using firefox.

    Tom
     

Share This Page