Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

How many miles is to many?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Dznutz70, May 18, 2001.

1. Dznutz70

Dznutz70 Registered Member

I am thinking about buying a 89 K5 the thing that is slowing me down is it has 160,000 miles. The guy still has a warranty on the trans, the rearend was just redone, and it has new tires. The guy is the second owner and the first was a GM mechanic. I am a High school student and do all my own wrenching, but I don't want to buy something for $5,200 only to lose a lot of money in it.

2. Dznutz70

I also forgot to mention that it needs paint and the roof is a peeler.

3. HuskerBlazer

HuskerBlazer 1/2 ton status

I don't think I'd be extremely worried about it. I would try to talk him down on price a little. Hell if you got a warranty on the trans and a new rearend, you've got "new" pieces on half of the driveline. Just check the engine and transfer case completely (i.e. take it to a mechanic before hand). the 350 seems to lose power after a lot of miles, but that doesn't necessarily mean it's going to crap out on you. I bought mine with 130,000 and had the same reservations. So far only little crap has needed to be replaced (U-joints, power window motor, etc.). As far as paint, well...that's a early 90's GM problem. Getting it fixed won't be cheap. But if it's on the top, I wouldn't worry about it...just use it to bring the price down.

In the end it's all your decision though. Good luck

K-5...Soccer moms inquire within.

4. backlash

backlash 1/2 ton status

Tough question! There can be so many things that could be wrong! But it is an old truck. One thing is for sure ... with this board and the guys here, you can save tons of money by working on it yourself.