Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

how much did you pay for your 465 to 203 addaptor?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Seventy4Blazer, Oct 2, 2002.

  1. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    did i pay to much? 80 total shipped from oregon to AZ....
    grant
     
  2. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    I think you got a good deal. I think those adapters are not very common.
     
  3. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    So once you have this adapter will any 203 bolt to it? Or does it have to be a 203 that originaly bolted to a 465?
    Mee need one too /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  4. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    I believe you need the 203 that bolted to the 465 also. I think the input shaft is different. Dont quote me on this but I believe that GM only offered the 465/203 combo in one or two years, '74 or somewhere. This is the 203 that you need for the doubler and the ORD page talks about it in some detail.

    Try this link: ORD info
     
  5. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    Yes for the doubler and the years acording to ORD are 73-75 for the 203 w/465. I will be needing one, that and a 205 that bolts to a th400 so if anyone has thease let me know /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  6. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    That's a good, fair price.

    I have two of them right now and both combined total cost is $90. /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  7. TopOff

    TopOff 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Folsom, ca
    The OEM 203 from the sm465 was a 10 spline unit.

    You can get a sm465 with a 208 behind it this is 27 or 30 or 32 spline unit. I understand you can get a 203, buy the 27, 30 or 32 spline input from ORD ($160).

    Now you can drill and tap the 465/208-adapter to bolt on the 203.
    I wish i did this, except my 203 10 spline was in GREAT shape. So, I will wait till it wears down.
     
  8. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I have the 203 with the adaptor to the 465.
    I took it off when my chain broke and I replaced it with a 205.
    I kept it in case I wanted to use the doubler since I wouldn't need the broken part anyway.
    Now I am thinking I have enough with the diesel that I don't need the doubler for my kind of wheeling.
    Sooo if anybody wants them, they're for sale.
    IceMan
     
  9. m j

    m j 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    isnt there a length penalty for going that route?
     
  10. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    Dibbs /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
    sent you a PM /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif
     
  11. TopOff

    TopOff 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Folsom, ca
    Do you mean a length penalty for using a 208 range box?

    I'm not sure. ORD doesn't REALLY support this, however he told me it can be done pretty easily. I am not at all familiar with a 208. As matter of fact, I don't think I have EVER seen a 208 yet. I have had no reason to look for one before. /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif
     
  12. m j

    m j 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    no, I thought the 208 version of a 465 was a long output shaft.
     
  13. TopOff

    TopOff 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Folsom, ca
    Ohh, maybe.
     
  14. Batmanjr

    Batmanjr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Posts:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    Speaking of! I have a 465/203 adapter that I am doing this exact swap! I would be willing to trade the hard to find adapter for a 465/208 adapter! I've already rebuilt the 465 with the 32 spline output, but instaed of making my own adapter, I would prefer to trade this one away! First to PM me will be first on the list!
     

Share This Page