Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

How much is too much?

Discussion in '1936-Present Suburban' started by dbltapp, Jan 12, 2003.

1. dbltapp

dbltapp 1/2 ton status

I am at a point where I need to s#$t or get off the pot, when it comes to my rust. My rockers are gone, but could be replaced with sliders. My fenders are rusty, but could be trimmed. My door sills need work, I have a 8"X1" patch of rust on my tailgate, I need new front and rear inner fenders, and I need to get my frame rust blasted off and the frame re-finished(about 1500$). I guess my problem is I can't make up my mind whether to fix her, or replace her with a 3/4 ton, rust free burban of the same year? I have no body work knowledge, and no where to do it if I did. Any thoughts would be graet, I try and run it by my wife, but when I start to talk to her about it, I get the same look your dog would when you rip a loud a fart! /forums/images/graemlins/ignore.gif Thanx again for any help in advance, it takes me forever to get the time to check stuff out after I post. /forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif
    /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif /forums/images/graemlins/burb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif

2. tomseviltwin

tomseviltwin 1/2 ton status

maybe you could find a good body with a bad engine and switch the drivetrain over. I wonder if you can ever really fix extensive rust and keep cost below that of replacement.

3. dbltapp

dbltapp 1/2 ton status

I thought about that, but I think the cost is going to be about the same, plus I would have to get it shipped.
    /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif /forums/images/graemlins/burb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif

4. pilgrim

pilgrim 1/2 ton status

if you are looking to have a nice paint job than it might be worth it to get a better body..