Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

how much lube is in a 700r4

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by az ranger, Jun 21, 2004.

  1. az ranger

    az ranger 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Posts:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Safford AZ
    I have to change the fluid in my tranny since it spent some time under water. how many quarts will I need to fill it and should I change the filter as well?

    it also has a shift kit in it do I need special fluid for that.

    thanks
     
  2. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    i takes about 5 quarts, but buy 6 and add as much as you need.

    you dont need a special fluid, yes change the filter.
     
  3. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,097
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    [ QUOTE ]
    i takes about 5 quarts, but buy 6 and add as much as you need.

    you dont need a special fluid, yes change the filter.

    [/ QUOTE ]
    No effence but did you fall on your head? /forums/images/graemlins/screwy.gif

    A th700 holds 10-12 quarts of Dexron Mercon ATF. Yes, change the filter too and almost any GM compatable fluid will work.
     
  4. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    no but i did drop a 3/4" ratchet on my head the other day /forums/images/graemlins/screwy.gif /forums/images/graemlins/screwy.gif

    a filter change takes 5-6 quarts while a new install/drain of the converter take 10-12
     
  5. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,097
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    [ QUOTE ]
    no but i did drop a 3/4" ratchet on my head the other day /forums/images/graemlins/screwy.gif /forums/images/graemlins/screwy.gif



    [/ QUOTE ]
    Ouch! /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif

    [ QUOTE ]
    a filter change takes 5-6 quarts while a new install/drain of the converter take 10-12

    [/ QUOTE ]
    If he thinks he got water in the oil I would think to change it all. /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     
  6. lason

    lason 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington TX
    If you pull the converter out to drain it also which intails pulling the t-case and tranny then yes 10-12 quarts but for a basic fluid and filter change then its about 5 quarts. I dont see many people pulling the converter to change tranny fluid.
     
  7. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,086
    Likes Received:
    487
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    Doing a flush would be best. This should take a couple gallons of fluid. You want to make sure you get all of the water out because water = strawberry milkshake = bad.

    This entails disconnecting a cooler line and catching fluid in a jug. Then you add the same amount of fluid down the fill tube. Do it a little bit at a time until everything coming out looks new. Then after it's all warmed up, check the fluid level again.

    The total fluid capacity, including the torque converter, is 23 pints, but you'll never get all of it out without taking the tranny apart.
     
  8. az ranger

    az ranger 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Posts:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Safford AZ
    to make sure I got this right in "idiot terms"javascript:void(0) I should pull the pan drain the fluid there and change filter there, then I should pull one of the lines going to the cooler and drain there as well. then hook the line back up and put the pan on and pour into the filler tube. by drainning the cooler I will most likely need the 10-12 quarts.

    sound about right to everyone?

    thanks for the replies. javascript:void(0)
     
  9. tjk5

    tjk5 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gillette, WY
    Take it to a shop and have em flush it, and take care of the filter while they are at it. Costs about 70 bucks around here. Well worth it.
     
  10. Executioner

    Executioner 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2000
    Posts:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Temp. Ft. Walton Beach Fl. home=Tucson, Az.
    Your still missing the point !
    Drain as much as possible with the pan off, while
    trying to also drain/remove from the torque converter,
    and yes remove/drain from the cooler and lines.
    I have applied both vaccum and/or pressuer to the line
    and watched it dribble fluid out the pan area and the
    remaining line.



    [ QUOTE ]
    to make sure I got this right in "idiot terms"javascript:void(0) I should pull the pan drain the fluid there and change filter there, then I should pull one of the lines going to the cooler and drain there as well. then hook the line back up and put the pan on and pour into the filler tube. by drainning the cooler I will most likely need the 10-12 quarts.

    sound about right to everyone?

    thanks for the replies. javascript:void(0)

    [/ QUOTE ]
     
  11. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    the th350 converter i have has a drain plug in the converter. wish they did that on a 700r4
     

Share This Page