Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

how much should it run me to put my truck on a dyno?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by down4thakrown, Aug 7, 2005.

  1. down4thakrown

    down4thakrown 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    flagstaff,az
    was thinkin since i cant get this right how much would it run to take it to a dyno? since i have a unilite distributor that has no wieghts or springs. would this mean all they have to do is really adjsut the carb? how much should it run me?
     
  2. camiswelding

    camiswelding 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Posts:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    3 runs plus setup ( dyno comoputer attached to all sensors including exhaust amd mixture measurements) just cost me 45.00 ... including a floppy of the runs... took about an hour

    cam
     
  3. jackedjimmy350

    jackedjimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2000
    Posts:
    3,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Smith, Arkansas 72901
    $50 here in town...3 runs
     
  4. down4thakrown

    down4thakrown 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    flagstaff,az
    did it tell you exactly how to adjust it or did it just give you an idea?
     
  5. down4thakrown

    down4thakrown 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    flagstaff,az
    do you guys think by putting it on the dyno will help find out whats wrong. like vaccuum leaks......
     
  6. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    you can find those things without spending a dime. Whats wrong with your truck that you feel you need a d[yno run to figure it out?

    I don't think most dyno shops setup for A/F ratio and such when they do pulls, just HP/Torque. I've only seen a few dyno pulls ever though. $100 for 3 pulls in my home town I believe. I will likely do it when the S10 is done.
     
  7. Iron_Weasel

    Iron_Weasel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    The Dyno Edge here charges $55 for 3 pulls or $80 to "rent" dyno for an hour.
    It's one of the few AWD dynos I kkow of and it's good up to 1000HP or so.
     

Share This Page