Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

How should I build my Suburban?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Eric M., Dec 28, 2001.

1. Eric M.

Eric M. 1/2 ton status

I wanted to thank those of you who answered my earlier posts regarding difs. and stopping abilities of various year / model Burbs ... although one ended up a discussion on how to "best" change lanes! I ended up purchasing a 91 Chevy Suburban 2500, 350 (117K miles), 4L80E trans (20k miles on rebuild), 241 transfer case (I think, or something close to those numbers). I'm not very good at identifying differentials unless they are Danas, but the front and rear look like every other pair I've seen on 3/4 ton Burbs, 14 bolt, semi floater rear, 12 bolt front? I wanted to get some suggestions on how I should build it. The trial and error method I used building my 82, K3500 got pretty expensive and left me with a lot of spare parts.

The Suburban will be used on highways and snow covered roads / highways ... in CA this means about 4" - 8" over paved roads with occasional ice. I'm not looking to build this as an "either or" ride, if I want something more serious, I'll jump in the other truck. I want something that will do well on snow covered roads.

I'm curious about tires. What would you guys recommend? I've heard tall, skinny mud terrains work well for this sorta driving.

Posis? Front? Rear? Leave open? I've had some interesting turns in my K3500 with a Detroit rear and a Power Lock front. I'm thinking of leaving the front open and putting something a little less aggressive than the Detroit in the rear. I hate the turning characteristics of the Detroit on highways.