Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

How strong are my 10 bolt axles

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by jds_lpd, Aug 20, 2004.

1. jds_lpd

jds_lpd Registered Member

Buying replacement Dana Series axles are expensive. So my question is how strong are my 10 bolt axles. I live in West Tennessee. The only riding will be trail rides down logging roads and railroad beds, but I am a volunteer firefighter and may someday have to go through some serious trails or major mud to get to a scene. Will my axles hold up to 33" tires, daily driving and still be ready. /forums/images/graemlins/burb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif

2. Emmettology 101

Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

You should be fine with 33's... If you want, keep your eyes open in your local salvage yards for a 12 bolt or a 6 lug 14SF. You could even go with a 14FF, but then you would need to swap your front end out to 8 lug and buy new rims....

3. MTBLAZER89

MTBLAZER89 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

Yeah would say you will be fine with 33's especially if you aren't locked. Larger tires or the addition of a locker will decrease the life of the 10 bolts. Actually the rear is the weak one the front will hold up pretty good, but we've all heard the stories about 10 b rears exploding on the street with 31's /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif Don't drive it like a madman, and carry a spare shaft or two and you'll be ok /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif

4. K5MONSTERCHEV

K5MONSTERCHEV 1/2 ton status

Eaton posi and 30 spline axles, youll be fine.

5. CyberSniper

CyberSniper 1/2 ton status Premium Member

Spider gears and Gov-locks are the weak point on 33s and under.

6. jds_lpd