Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

How to build your own Chassis Dyno

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by ntsqd, Jul 17, 2004.

  1. ntsqd

    ntsqd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Posts:
    3,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So. CA
    Chassis Dyno
     
  2. unclematty

    unclematty 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLC UT
    that looks like a deathtrap!! /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif
     
  3. uao85

    uao85 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Posts:
    1,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edge of insanity
    That is awesome, talk about working with what you got.

    Remington
     
  4. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    LOL thats an interesting idea... kind of dangerous though /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  5. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    That's definately a Rednecks dyno. /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  6. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    yeah I was just thinking I want to drive my nice car off a little ledge and hope I hit some tires before smashing my subframe and components.... /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  7. justhorsinaround

    justhorsinaround 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    6,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northerish Phoenix, Az
    That's just brilliant!!! I love stuff like that.
     
  8. ben427

    ben427 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Posts:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waverley, Nova Scotia
    i see how it works, but you cant really figure out how much hosepower you make, but it ill certainly let you load it up and break it in good.
    EDIT
    Ahh i see the device there, that will certainly tell you the load, but id like to know how you do determine the HP-tq numbers.
     
  9. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    just noticed the tire doesn't seem to be bolted to that truck axle /forums/images/graemlins/ignore.gif /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  10. MTBLAZER89

    MTBLAZER89 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Posts:
    7,272
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Oak Harbor, WA
    Shouldn't the truck tire have some lugnuts for safety /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif

    [​IMG]
     
  11. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    that would be what I meant it just came out stupid /forums/images/graemlins/ignore.gif /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  12. ben427

    ben427 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Posts:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waverley, Nova Scotia
    Nah they just used the inner Budd wheel, The inner lug nut is threaded on the outside and has a square head on the end of them for intallation. The outer rim goes over the inner nuts and normal nuts go on over them. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  13. bigburban383

    bigburban383 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, Royal Oak
    [ QUOTE ]
    i see how it works, but you cant really figure out how much hosepower you make, but it ill certainly let you load it up and break it in good.
    EDIT
    Ahh i see the device there, that will certainly tell you the load, but id like to know how you do determine the HP-tq numbers.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Horsepower is nothing more than torque at a certain RPM. A dyno is really a torque-o-meter, than a computer calculates HP automatically.

    A homemade engine dyno would be really easy to make. You just attach a brake rotor to the fly wheel of and engine on a stand and the caliper kept from spinning by a dial type torque wrench. Then you set up a tach next to the dial guage and have a laptop with a video camera watching both readings. You get the engine up to full throttle braking at the same time, holding rpms in different intervals across the RPM range of power you want to plot. Then you go back and watch the video and record the givin torque and an RPM and calculate your HP. Of course their are little things like converting the torque readings due to a torque arm in your caliper set up. I mean you could buy a torque meter, but they are very expensive. Oh, a high pressure water cooling of the brake rotor is recommended or you may warp your rotor /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

    Torque x RPM / 5252 = HP

    You notice, on every single power plot you'll ever see, the torque and hp lines will always cross at 5252 RPMs, if they dont your looking at a BS plot.
     

Share This Page