Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

How to get Engine static out

Discussion in 'Communication (CB | GPS | HAM)' started by Hossbaby50, Apr 2, 2002.

  1. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    When i run my CB, i get engine noise when the RPM's increase. What can I do to get this out of my CB. My CB is hooked up to a wire that is only active with the ignition on. Where should i connect the power wire? Any ideas? Thanks

    Harley
     
  2. The_Sandman_454

    The_Sandman_454 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Power for best results go to battery. Heavier than you need. 10ga wire is usually a good bet. Neg and Pos go straight to battery.
    Can get a filter and try it as well. My advice is first to check out www.wilsonantenna.com and check out their tech support/troubleshooting section. Even if you don't have a wilson antenna, they describe how to make a "sniffer" you can use to determine where the RF interference is coming from. Is a very effective way to track down the problem.

    Good luck, keep us posted...
     
  3. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Could my MSD box be causing the RF interference? Or is it because it is probably hooked up to a ignition wire? My Neg is grounded to the floor boards, is that good or bad? Thanks

    Harley
     
  4. The_Sandman_454

    The_Sandman_454 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Directly to battery. Pos and Neg. The battery acts as a big filter to help filter that crap out. Best routing for the wires for the power of the radio are across the core support either top or bottom (secured so it can't get into fan or get torn off, etc) to the drivers fender and then into cab, keeping it as far away from the ignition wires, etc as possible.

    That might solve the problem all by itself.

    Do you have an electric fuel pump? Sometimes those cause interference.

    Use heavier gage wire to run from the battery to as close to the radio as possible. That won't help with the static (the heavier wires) but will ensure it gets all the power it needs...
     
  5. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I run mine with shortest possible ground wire. The positive power wire is going to a power block for my sterio system. Big heavy power cable to the batt.
     
  6. Burbinator

    Burbinator 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Posts:
    898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tempe, Arizona
    Kenwood makes an ACTIVE DC filter for commercial applications, p/n KLF-2. These filters will squelch ANY noise whatsoever (I use them in commercial communications applications). I can get you one, if you'd like...

    Let me know...
     
  7. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    What do they cost?
     
  8. Burbinator

    Burbinator 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Posts:
    898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tempe, Arizona
    If I remember correctly, they're about $30-$40 or so and well worth it...

    I'm an engineer, not a salesman, so I'll check with my sales staff on Monday and get you an absolute concrete number for you.
     
  9. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Let me know. Thanks

    Harley
     
  10. 4GUNZ4X4Z

    4GUNZ4X4Z 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Posts:
    3,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mustang, Oklahoma
    Your MSD ingition will effect the noise. Best bet for wiring is to void the ground to the battery and run the shortest ground possible. If you can... run power to battery, but if not the fuse block will work fine.
     
  11. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Right now it is grounded to the body. My CB is right above my tcase shifter, and my ground wire is grounded to the metal dash, or the tcase shifter, I don't remember which right now. So the ground is about a foot long max, and the power wire is connected to a wire under the dash that is on a keyed switch.
     
  12. Burbinator

    Burbinator 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Posts:
    898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tempe, Arizona
    I just talked with my sales staff. I can get you one for $28 (my price). Let me know...

    Thanks!
     
  13. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    I will have to get back to you on this a little later. I am trying to get my finances in order. I am trying to figure out everything I am going to need for my 3/4 ton swap. I will most likely get one from you. But probably not for a little while. Plus if I wait, I will be back in PHX in a few weeks, and can pick it up instead of having to have you mail it. Thanks for finding the price out for me.

    Harley
     
  14. Burbinator

    Burbinator 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Posts:
    898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tempe, Arizona
    I usually keep about five in stock at all times, so there will be one available when you are. Just send me a PM when you're ready!
     
  15. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Will do. Thanks alot.

    Harley
     
  16. The_Sandman_454

    The_Sandman_454 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Honestly, why not just try wiring it up the right way first? It's virtually free, plus pretty much everybody I've talked to on the subject says the first step is approximately 10 guage ground and power wires both hooked to battery and a seperate ground for the radio to the body. That ground is the RF ground and shouldn't be hooked to the battery. If it's a more powerful radio you'll want that type of power connection anyhow. That actually solved the RFI problem in my 92 3/4T... Had the power from the fusebox and grounded to the firewall... /forums/images/icons/crazy.gif

    It *does* help and even if it doesn't completely solve the problem you know it's at least sure to get all the power it needs... Run 10ga wire as close to the radio as possible... /forums/images/icons/crazy.gif
     
  17. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    I will try it with the power wires to the battery. But I have had the radio wired several different ways in the past. none of which worked. The divice to take out all RF is probably what I will have to go with though because of the MSD stuff. In some of the MSD stuff it says that it can interfere with radio signals and stuff like that. We will see though.
     
  18. The_Sandman_454

    The_Sandman_454 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    One thing to check is does the noise go away when you disconnect the antenna from the radio. If the noise goes completely away (the interference) then it's being picked up by the antenna and no amount of wiring is going to change it (although better grounding for much of your stuff, making sure plug wires are good, etc might help). If the interference remains with the antenna unplugged, then the filter or proper wiring will help... /forums/images/icons/crazy.gif
     
  19. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Thats a good thought. My antanna is on my roof (metal part) I may have to move it to the fiberglass part, and see if that will help any. My whole igntion is MSD, except the distributor. The cap, rotor, coil, ignition box, and wires are all MSD.
     
  20. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    You might try a ground strap (like used on car sterios) from the antenna mount to the frame if you plan on mounting on the fiberglass.
     

Share This Page