Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

How to inquire about going to mechanics school.. have questions..

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by rocko, Oct 8, 2003.

1. rocko

rocko 1/2 ton status

I'm probably going to get out of the Army come January.. I want to look into a career field of auto mechanics.. I have money from the Army to send me to school, so what would be my best route?
    Community college with job placement?
    A place that will hire me and send me to school?

I'm a military veteran.. 14+ years.. will that help me get hired on?

ANY guidance would be greatly appreciated..
    My goal is to get hired on at a dealership.. and work for GM..

2. unick

unick 1/2 ton status

Go to wyotech. My brother went there and he loved it. He had like 20 job offers all over the country before he graduated. Its a good school. Not only do they teach you how to work on cars and stuff but they teach you busines skills that you might need working for GM. If you have any more questions about wyotech PM me and Ill call him and ask.

Nick

3. 89BlazerK5

89BlazerK5 1/2 ton status

WyoTech is a great universal automotive school

Universal Technical Institute is also a great school. they have diesel, collision/refinishing, and even have a NASCAR program, and a hot rod section sponsered by Hot Rod mag. they also have several very specivic techical programs for all the German cars (big $$$), and International.

if you wanna work for GM, the only techical GM programs i've seen are at community colleges.

edit: i just saw your from Round Rock. UTI has campus's all over the nation. they have one in Houston, Arizona, etc. etc.

4. unick

unick 1/2 ton status