Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

how to reduce trans temps

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 01maroonz71, Apr 5, 2007.

  1. 01maroonz71

    01maroonz71 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Palmetto, fl
    i know i know, 38's with 3.73's doesnt help anything, but my mileage on the interstate....but how can i reduce the temps in my tranny, they're hitting 250 after driving for about 30minutes or so. i installed the sending unit in the pressure port, which i hear is a bit higher, but i want it to be under 200 for sure, so i don't cook the fluid. when i checked the leve, it was ok, but a weird thing is that when i replaced the radiator about 2 months ago, when i unhooked the trans lines, no fluid came out at all....is that normal????


    thanks guyS!!!!


    dave
     
  2. otisringle

    otisringle 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Posts:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    california
    trying useing a trans cooler... Im no expert but that might cool down the fluid some........................
     
  3. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,552
    Likes Received:
    545
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
  4. 01maroonz71

    01maroonz71 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Palmetto, fl
    yeah...i already have a trans cooler in front of the radiator and i HD radiator also...truck never heats up past 180degrees, which is really screwin with me.

    thanks for the leak sweetk30
     
  5. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,552
    Likes Received:
    545
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    have you been hittin the drink? you spellin is off a bit.... ( thanks for the leak sweetk30 ) :haha:
     
  6. 01maroonz71

    01maroonz71 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Palmetto, fl
    damn, i ain't as think as you drunk i am
     
  7. DPI

    DPI 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2000
    Posts:
    2,792
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    In the Burbs close to Tulsa, OK
    Make sure your converter is locking up. If it doesn't, that will cause excessive heat.

    I have two sending units on my tranny temp guage. One in the return line from the 28K B&M stack plate cooler, and one in the pressure port.

    The unit in the return line will read under 100 degrees , while the unit in the pressure port will read 250+ on trips of 20-30 minutes at interstate speeds.
     
  8. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    simple... ditch the radiator aspect of the system, just run it thru the biggest stacked plate you can find... garauntee it'll drop temps big time...
     
  9. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,552
    Likes Received:
    545
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    but you need the fluid to warm up to a certin temp or it will cause damage over time. as taking it out of the loop might solve the problem short term.
     
  10. 01maroonz71

    01maroonz71 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Palmetto, fl
    hmmm...interesting....maybe i just need to move the sending unit to the pan, that way im positive what the temp is. DPI, do you have two gauges??? do you know what your actual temp is????


    and also...how can i make sure my converter is locking up???? is there any way for sure?
     
  11. obijuan

    obijuan 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Posts:
    4,009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio TX
    get into OD and lightly press the brakes. if your rpms go up, its working.

    just enough to activate the brake switch. so your lights come on.
     
  12. darkshadow

    darkshadow 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    12,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    C-eh-N-eh-D-eh
    yeah but he lives in fl, warm up shouldent be a big deal.

    where do you have the cooler routed? befor the rad or after?
     
  13. 01maroonz71

    01maroonz71 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Palmetto, fl
    i don't have OD, just a th400... the cooler is after the rad. i bought the truck like that, but have no problem doing it a better way if there is one.
     
  14. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore

    Look where he lives... Florida? I'd never consider running it thru the rad... It'd be stupid...

    And I run that way in Jersey... Awesome temps in the summer, 180, and it does get to a 150ish temp in the winter, just takes awhile.. It's a chance I'll take for the cleaner install and low summer temps...

    Btw, You should know I've certainly been involved in many of these discussions and know the "boiling off condensation" theory..
     

Share This Page