Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

how to swap to a hydraulic setup?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by kickinasphalt383, May 5, 2002.

  1. kickinasphalt383

    kickinasphalt383 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Posts:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    i have a mechanical linkage for the clutch on my truck... it sucks!! how would i go about swapping to hydraulic WITHOUT swapping the bellhousing or fork?

    i know Wilwood makes that slave cylinder... but what else would i need to make that work? are there any easier routes i could take?

    thanks
     
  2. Quack_Addict

    Quack_Addict 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Posts:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I've done a swap from linkage clutch to hydraulic. You need to get the right hydraulic parts to make it work properly.

    Do a search... there was a post on here last week where I pretty much detailed what I had to do on my truck.
     
  3. Mreetz

    Mreetz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Posts:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Subs of Denver, Colorado
    Not sure how you do this without the right bellhousing tho.
     
  4. kickinasphalt383

    kickinasphalt383 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Posts:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    i was under the impression that i could install a slave cylinder that would pull the original (manual linkage fork)? without having to swap the bellhousing or fork?
     
  5. Quack_Addict

    Quack_Addict 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Posts:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I'm not saying it isn't possible, but that would be interesting...
     
  6. BlazerBoy

    BlazerBoy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago IL.
    I am pretty sure some one has done that, I recall seeing pictures posted once.
     
  7. kickinasphalt383

    kickinasphalt383 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Posts:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
  8. m j

    m j 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    normal hydro pedals and master with a custom line.
    it will never look as good as gm hydro bellhousing
     
  9. beej.johnson

    beej.johnson Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield, OR
    You would just need to make a custom bracket that mounts on the PTO bolts on the 11 and 10 oclock bolts if you are looking at the plate from the drivers side. Unless you have the van bell housing and it is on the passenger side. At least this is what a friend of mine did with his CJ7 swapping in a SM465 to his Jeep.
     
  10. jt512

    jt512 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    4,519
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Maryland
    Hopefully he figured out his problem, since the thread is 7 years old :D
     
  11. beej.johnson

    beej.johnson Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield, OR
    oops, well at least whoever looks at this in the future they can have that info for their use hopefully. :)
     
  12. K10 KRAWLER

    K10 KRAWLER 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Posts:
    399
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Carstairs, Alberta, Canada
    :doah::haha:
     

Share This Page