Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

How to tell if its a NV4500?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 79ChevySB, Dec 22, 2001.

  1. 79ChevySB

    79ChevySB 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2001
    Posts:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver CO
    Do any of you know what year GM started putting NV 4500's into trucks? That and how can you tell the difference between a 4500 and other 5 speeds used.
     
  2. Chris Demartini

    Chris Demartini 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dumont NJ 07628
    <font color=blue>The 4500 had a removable bellhousing and the other 5 speed didnt
     
  3. 79ChevySB

    79ChevySB 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2001
    Posts:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver CO
    Besides the removable bellhousing is there any part numbers to reference/stamped into the case that I could check? Thanks!
     
  4. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,163
    Likes Received:
    1,360
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    The shifter housing/top cover is aluminum too. GM started using the NV4500 in 92 in 3/4 ton and one ton trucks. As far as I know the only other 5 speed used was the Getrag which is an all aluminum one piece tranny. This was found in 88 and up 1/2 tons...
    The NV4500 also has a PTO provision on both sides of the tranny and unless it's been removed should have a warning sticker on one PTO cover telling you to use synthetic gear lube only.
    Here's a link that may help...<a target="_blank" href=http://www.off-road.com/jeep/projects/jeeptherapy5.htm> NV4500</a>

    Rene

    <font color=green>Dyslexics of the world...UNTIE!</font color=green>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/project_T2> tRusty pics...</a>
     
  5. 79ChevySB

    79ChevySB 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2001
    Posts:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver CO
    Do you know what transfer cases came behind the 4500? Would it be a NP241? or could you bolt up a NP205? Again thanks for the info guys!
     
  6. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,163
    Likes Received:
    1,360
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    The 241 would have been most commonly behind the NV4500. It has a 32 spline output and the generic circular 6 bolt pattern on the rear of the adaptor. I would guess a 32 spline input 205 from a TH400 would bolt right up...

    Rene

    <font color=green>Dyslexics of the world...UNTIE!</font color=green>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/project_T2> tRusty pics...</a>
     
  7. Sparky87k5

    Sparky87k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Posts:
    726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynden, Washington, 4 miles from Canada
    NV4500 had 241's behind them. A 32 spline input NP208 will bolt up. A 32 spline NP205 with 6 bolt circular adapter will also bolt up.

    87 K5, 427BBC,D60 & 14BFF, NV4500, NP208, TSM disc's,
     
  8. prjt_blzr

    prjt_blzr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    COS, CO
    There are two different length 32 spline input gears. I used the short one from a TH400 and machined a notch in the NV4500 tailhousing. It bolted right up. The newer 205s use a long input gear that will need a short spacer between the trans and the Tcase. Oh yeah, you do need the round bolt pattern on the tcase.
     
  9. 79ChevySB

    79ChevySB 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2001
    Posts:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver CO
    If switched my 700R4 to a NV4500 would I have to swap out my 241 or do I have to just swap out the input shaft in the 241? Thanks for all of the help guys!
     

Share This Page