Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Hub Lock

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by bking, Jan 8, 2001.

1. bking

bking 1/2 ton status

Jan 4, 2001
    ok ok, I'm new to a K5, can someone please explain to me about the front hubs. When or why would I lock them? At the min it's snowing and icy here, the hubs are locked all the time, is this right? Sometimes when trying to turn sharply into a parking space the whole front end jumps, is this because of the hubs being locked? Just doesn't like turning sharply, someone please explain the hub thing to me.
  2. mudhog

mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

Nov 6, 2000
    when or why would you lock them? well you need to lock them when you want to use 4wheel drive if you do not lock them you can put the t-case in 4hi or 4low but you will not have any power at the front wheels untill you lock the hubs. when snow or ice is present you can leave your hubs locked and shift your t-case into 2hi and when you need 4x4 you can just shift into 4hi or 4low without getting out and locking the hubs i would not do this all year just during the winter months or bad weather

s.smith 77blazer lookin 4 mud
  3. Goose

Goose 1/2 ton status

Feb 17, 2000