Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Hub not locking

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by MilpitasK5, Dec 24, 2001.

  1. MilpitasK5

    MilpitasK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Posts:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milpitas, Ca.
    Hey all:

    Merry Christmas. Here is a rookie question for you. I have an 86' K5 and my Warn Hubs aren't locking. Axles and drive train are spinning but tires aren't. What did I do wrong when I re-installed the mechanism? What do I do to trouble shoot where my problem is?

    Thanks,
    Chris
     
  2. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    How do you know the axles and drive shaft are spinning. In the front I assume? It sounds like you're missing some internals on the hubs, or they're broken, or the splines are stripped on the locking hub or even wheel hub. Did you buy it recently?

    That jeep thing? Yah I understand it....... Like my Blazer? <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/blazerk5>http://community.webshots.com/user/blazerk5</a>
    Jim
     
  3. MilpitasK5

    MilpitasK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Posts:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milpitas, Ca.
    Yep, it's the front. I was in the snow yesterday and was sliding so I had some buddies get out and check. Hmmm. Thank you for the input!
    Chris
     
  4. hammer

    hammer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Posts:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Binghamton N.Y.
    are they manual or auto hubs?

    <font color=red>Let me at it I can break it</font color=red>
     
  5. MilpitasK5

    MilpitasK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Posts:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milpitas, Ca.
    Oh yeah. I bought the truck about two years ago and the hubs worked fine. Over the summer I went in a replaced the bearing but I don't know if I put back in properly.

    Thanks again
     
  6. MilpitasK5

    MilpitasK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Posts:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milpitas, Ca.
    They're manual locking. I would appreciate it if you did!! I need to get back to the snow next week! I almost had to buy chains for my 33's! $100 on the mountain.
     
  7. hammer

    hammer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Posts:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Binghamton N.Y.
    I would say jack the truck up and see if it is one or both by manually locking one at a time and then both to see if one hub is bad or you just didn't get something together right on one of the hubs. If they are bad a new set is only $60 for both hubs

    <font color=red>Let me at it I can break it</font color=red>
     
  8. MilpitasK5

    MilpitasK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Posts:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milpitas, Ca.
    Okay. Thanks! I'll let you know what happens.
    Chris
     
  9. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    To troubleshoot: Jack up the front and lock the hubs. As you rotate the wheel, the axle shaft on that side should rotate with it. Just watch the u-joint at the end of the axle housing to see if things are moving. Unless there's a locker in the front differential, then having just one hub that isn't locking will keep the front end from pulling at all. [​IMG]

    When you had things apart, did you happen to pack the hub housing full of grease? This is a common first timer's mistake. The grease will prevent the hub from sliding into position for locking.

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     
  10. MilpitasK5

    MilpitasK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Posts:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milpitas, Ca.
    I sure did pack that with grease. I knew I should have never bought that stupid Chilton! How much grease should I put? I think that is what my problem is.

    Thanks!!
    Chris
     
  11. pr1aw

    pr1aw 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Posts:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Just enough to coat the surfaces.
     
  12. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    All you need is just a VERY light coating of grease on the splines, to allow them to slide in and out as you lock and unlock the hubs. Clean that out and your hubs should lock just fine. [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     
  13. MilpitasK5

    MilpitasK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Posts:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milpitas, Ca.
    Thanks!!!
     
  14. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Be sure to post some pics of you throwing huge rooster tails of snow from all 4 wheels after you have the hubs working again! [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     
  15. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    Grease the hubs? I've never greased my hubs. I always heard it was a big no no! Course it's real dry out here so rust and mud and crud isn't a big problem.

    That jeep thing? Yah I understand it....... Like my Blazer? <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/blazerk5>http://community.webshots.com/user/blazerk5</a>
    Jim
     
  16. MilpitasK5

    MilpitasK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Posts:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milpitas, Ca.
    It worked. I'm ready to go! Just wanted to say thanks. I'll try to take some flicks this week end!
    Merry X-mas...
     
  17. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Sweet! Glad to hear it was an easy fix!

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     

Share This Page