Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

HVAC specialist's question!

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by dontoe, Dec 23, 2005.

  1. dontoe

    dontoe 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Posts:
    9,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hickory, N.C.
    Lately, I have been using a large kerosene heater to heat the house when we are home and awake. Sometimes I go downstairs to the furnace, and push in a button on the ?relay box? for the air handler, that way the heat gets circulated throughout the house better.


    There is a "fan only" position on the new Honeywell round digital thermostat I bought last month. I'd like to use that instead of walking downstairs, opening the oil furnace panel, and pushing or pulling the button to turn the air handler on and off. There are three wires hooked up to the thermostat (I installed) and only two hooked up to the terminals on the control sitting on the furnace ?Burner motor?. One wire is not connected to anything.

    Question:
    Can I hook up that one wire to switch on the fan only through the thermostat? And if so, where would I connect it?
     
  2. jac6695

    jac6695 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Christiansburg, VA
    On your furnace where the thermostat wires connect, is there a terminal marked "G"? If so, connect one of the three wires at the thermostat to the "G" terminal there, and the same at the furnace terminal strip.
     
  3. dontoe

    dontoe 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Posts:
    9,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hickory, N.C.
    Here's what I have.
    THe Honeywell box has 2-labeled Twith the thermostat 2 wires connected to them
    2-Labeled F connected to the burner I think
    The relay box, to the right, is for the air handdler ?Ithink? and has several terminals not used.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. jac6695

    jac6695 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Christiansburg, VA
    Don, it doesn't look to me that you can easily use the thermostat for the fan relay without adding a second relay for the burner. Can you give me a better angle of the relay on the right, and maybe the numbers aff of it? Also, are any of the terminals marked on that relay/terminal block?
     
  5. Storm Trooper

    Storm Trooper 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2000
    Posts:
    4,640
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dillon Colorado, Hang'in in the mountains. Renting
    Judging by the wiring/missing wiring, it will be very difficult to explain how to wire it to correctly turn on the blower. Show us the Honeywell fan control wiring that has the switch (white button) that you use to turn on the blower. Mite wanna post the wiring diagram also. Anything can be done, it just depends on how much wiring you want to do.
     

Share This Page