Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

hydraulic assist with 4x4 box ?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by TOMER, Nov 15, 2004.

  1. TOMER

    TOMER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Hello guys
    I would like to know if it possible to drill 4x4 streeing box for the hydraulic assist?

    thanks
     
  2. boz42

    boz42 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Posts:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hopewell, Tn 38058
    Re: hydraulic assist with 4x4 box

    it is possible it is the same as a 2wd box except for the sector shaft.
     
  3. TOMER

    TOMER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Re: hydraulic assist with 4x4 box

    Hi boz42
    Sorry but what is this "sector shaft"

    P.S Forget to mention that I dont want to go with the crossover ($$$) for now
     
  4. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Re: hydraulic assist with 4x4 box

    The sector shaft is the part that the pitman arms attaches to, the stock one only lets you turn it left and right, you need it to turn front to back. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  5. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    Re: hydraulic assist with 4x4 box

    [ QUOTE ]
    the stock one only lets you turn it left and right, you need it to turn front to back. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    You've got that backwards.
    You could run Hyd assist without crossover but you would rip the box from the frame if you were ever to articulate the axle and force it to steer at the same time with the ram. All you would have to do it let the front drivers side tire get down in a hole and the force the steering and /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif it would be all over.
    Maybey if you get the bolt on brace from Tim or ORD it might be able to withstand the forces but don't quote me on it....
     
  6. TOMER

    TOMER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Re: hydraulic assist with 4x4 box

    This doesnt sound very promising /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif
    I probably will order from ORD the crossover /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif (very regretfully I didnt do it sooner,with the shackel flip that already arrived /forums/images/graemlins/screwy.gif).

    tomer
     

Share This Page