Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

hydraulic winch

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by four_by_ken, Jun 14, 2001.

1. four_by_ken

four_by_ken 1/2 ton status

I am looking for some experience, not simply opinions, on Milemarker Hydraulic winches. I like the idea of not straining the electrical system and not having to worry about overhearting the winch motor. I understand they are slower and you do have to worry about over heating the power steering pump. Any other experiences?

Thanks
    Ken

2. 85m1009

85m1009 1/2 ton status

I have been using a Milemarker 2 speed for over 3 years. I have not had any problems at all. I am running a power steering cooler and haven't any overheating problems. As far as speed is concerned most of the time you just need a little help to get out of a situation and I pull on the high side and it works just fine. I know I am in the minority but I like a hydraulic winch.

<font color=yellow>Steve Frisbie</font color=yellow>

3. xtreme_wlr

xtreme_wlr 1/2 ton status