Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

hydro assist with tie rod in stock location???

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by TruckNutzDude, Mar 1, 2005.

  1. TruckNutzDude

    TruckNutzDude 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Posts:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Agawam, MA
    I searched for a while but only found pictures with the tie rod above the leaf springs. Does anyone have a link or a picture of the ram mounted on the axle tube with the tie rod in the stock location? I'm kind of stumped on how to mount mine.:mad:
     
  2. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    What are you having trouble with?? Just weld on some tabs right next to the carrier and weld in some tabs on the tie rod and your done. :confused:
     
  3. TruckNutzDude

    TruckNutzDude 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Posts:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Agawam, MA
    I haven't mocked it up yet so I'm not having problems yet. I'm going to mock it up tomorrow but I wanted some good ideas first. I'm worried about clearance issues when the wheels are at full lock and the tie rod is closest to the axle tube. I know it can be done, I just forgot what it looks like. :rolleyes:
     
  4. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    That's how mine is, no problems.
     
  5. Silver84k5

    Silver84k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Posts:
    3,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hillsboro Oregon
    me too... only problem i had was when the axle slipped off the jack and the jack pedestal Bent the **** outa the Ram :blush: WTO replaced it... Good people down there.
     
  6. Esteban86K5

    Esteban86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    If you still have it, use the stabalizer mount.
     
  7. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    thats what I did... the stock stab mount on my D60 is a pretty beefy piece. Its help up fine. Gonna be putting the ram above/behind the springs soon tho...

    j
     
  8. TruckNutzDude

    TruckNutzDude 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Posts:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Agawam, MA
    I sawzalled that off a long time ago, never thought I'd need it. I was planning on just going with dual stabilizers until I realized what death wobble was. :blush:
     
  9. Esteban86K5

    Esteban86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    Weld some new tabs in the same position. You can makeit even better by having it doble shear instead of single like your stock one would be.
     
  10. spoolnaround

    spoolnaround 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingsburg Ca
    This is what happens to your tie rod when it is mounted in the stock position. The ram has some rock rash on it too.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Esteban86K5

    Esteban86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    I wanna first say that if you have a HD tierod, you can eliminate that. NOt totally eliminate it, but definitaly minimize it.

    Your tow hooks made me LOL. Mine look the exact same way, bent frame and all.:grin:
     
  12. spoolnaround

    spoolnaround 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingsburg Ca
    Yea I crack up every time I crawl under the thing. I Just got these the other day to fix the tie rod problems.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. TruckNutzDude

    TruckNutzDude 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Posts:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Agawam, MA
    I'm glad I stay away from rocks... I do plan on adding hi-steer in the future or at least a bigger tie rod so that doesn't happen. Right now I just need to try not to crack my frame trying to turn without rolling.
     
  14. Esteban86K5

    Esteban86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    That some MAJOR BLING!! :bow:

    My next set of Histeer arms are going to be with the tie rod behind the axle.:D
     
  15. spoolnaround

    spoolnaround 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingsburg Ca
    I thought about it but I figured this should work out just fine. They are from SKY manufacturing. I could never run the cross over with my other arms cause the TR hits the top of the u-bolt nuts.
     
  16. TruckNutzDude

    TruckNutzDude 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Posts:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Agawam, MA
    How did you work around the eye for the stock stabilizer on the tie rod? I'm having a hard time thinking of a way to mount a tab in that spot... Maybe it's just me???
     

Share This Page